Bok Bok Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good. I actually got my 7-year old pickey eater to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I made this recipe last night with some ingredients I had on hand. I used a small package of frozen spinach thawed and squeezed the excess water off. Used skim ricotta cheese, chives and onion cream cheese, mozzarella cheese, parmesan cheese, a package of Lipton’s dried onion mix and 8 oz of fully cooked chopped ham. I didn’t measure anything. I just kind of put it all together and knew what kind of consistency I wanted. I used half of a package of crescent rolls. This made four little popovers to serve two people. I used a round scoop to put the filling in the dough and that worked out well. I enjoyed this because it took less than 15 minutes to put it all together and get it in the oven. I served it with some microwave steam fresh vegetables and it was a nice healthy dinner. Adding spinach to the filling was a great way to get my family to eat more vegetables. We are working on projects in the house this week so we needed something quick and this was perfect. I saved the filling to use another night this week. I believe I had enough filling left over to make about eight more popovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raggamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I chopped the chicken into bite-size pieces, cooked it with a little sesame oil and minced onion. I also added green chilies to the mixture. The first batch I made w/2 triangles but popovers came out huge, more like a hot pocket. I made the rest of the the batch with 1 triangle and they were plenty big. My husband really liked them, I will make this again. It is a little time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I started making a recipe for these several years ago. My husband, an avid cream cheese hater, even liked these. BIG hit in this family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
YUCK! This was so nasty. I feel like I wasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
These were okay. I really thought they were going to be better. I definitely agree with whoever said 6 chicken breasts is too much. I used 2 cans of chicken I had on hand and thought even that was way too much. I actually had to use 2 packs of crescent rolls in order for all the mixture to be used up. I added some garlic salt to the mixture and the taste was okay. I think the 1 tbs. of minced onion was a little overpowering though. I think I'd definitely make these again for something quick, but I'd do a lot of tweaking. I think it would also taste pretty good with maybe chopped ham or some other kind of meat and other spices. Good base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Ok first - you do not need six chicken breasts. I used one 6 ounce breast at it was plenty. For those of you who would rather have a more meaty filling, two chicken breats would be more than enough. I really didn't seen the need for piecing two crescents together, so I kept them in triangles and just put a smaller amount of filling in each and rolled them up as you normally would crescents. The filling is way too much for one cane of crescents. I suggest cutting the recipe in half, or using two cans to use up all the filling. These were not particularly flavorful. They pretty much just tasted like a crescent with cream cheese filling. I would suggest if you try making these, add more of whatever seasoning suits you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
To add more flavor, I mixed a can of cream of mushroom soup with the cream cheese. Very easy recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceyleah74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had a little trouble closing the seams so they weren't very "pretty" but they were a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Sorry didn't like these at all! Very bland and too much cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chicken-Stuffed Crescent Rolls

What's cooking in Duluth? Monica's incredibly easy, tasty chicken dish.

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

See how to make tender baked chicken nuggets with an herb breading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States