Bok Bok Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good. I actually got my 7-year old pickey eater to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I made this recipe last night with some ingredients I had on hand. I used a small package of frozen spinach thawed and squeezed the excess water off. Used skim ricotta cheese, chives and onion cream cheese, mozzarella cheese, parmesan cheese, a package of Lipton’s dried onion mix and 8 oz of fully cooked chopped ham. I didn’t measure anything. I just kind of put it all together and knew what kind of consistency I wanted. I used half of a package of crescent rolls. This made four little popovers to serve two people. I used a round scoop to put the filling in the dough and that worked out well. I enjoyed this because it took less than 15 minutes to put it all together and get it in the oven. I served it with some microwave steam fresh vegetables and it was a nice healthy dinner. Adding spinach to the filling was a great way to get my family to eat more vegetables. We are working on projects in the house this week so we needed something quick and this was perfect. I saved the filling to use another night this week. I believe I had enough filling left over to make about eight more popovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raggamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I chopped the chicken into bite-size pieces, cooked it with a little sesame oil and minced onion. I also added green chilies to the mixture. The first batch I made w/2 triangles but popovers came out huge, more like a hot pocket. I made the rest of the the batch with 1 triangle and they were plenty big. My husband really liked them, I will make this again. It is a little time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I started making a recipe for these several years ago. My husband, an avid cream cheese hater, even liked these. BIG hit in this family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONYTHORN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
YUCK! This was so nasty. I feel like I wasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
These were okay. I really thought they were going to be better. I definitely agree with whoever said 6 chicken breasts is too much. I used 2 cans of chicken I had on hand and thought even that was way too much. I actually had to use 2 packs of crescent rolls in order for all the mixture to be used up. I added some garlic salt to the mixture and the taste was okay. I think the 1 tbs. of minced onion was a little overpowering though. I think I'd definitely make these again for something quick, but I'd do a lot of tweaking. I think it would also taste pretty good with maybe chopped ham or some other kind of meat and other spices. Good base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILFRAZIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Ok first - you do not need six chicken breasts. I used one 6 ounce breast at it was plenty. For those of you who would rather have a more meaty filling, two chicken breats would be more than enough. I really didn't seen the need for piecing two crescents together, so I kept them in triangles and just put a smaller amount of filling in each and rolled them up as you normally would crescents. The filling is way too much for one cane of crescents. I suggest cutting the recipe in half, or using two cans to use up all the filling. These were not particularly flavorful. They pretty much just tasted like a crescent with cream cheese filling. I would suggest if you try making these, add more of whatever seasoning suits you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
To add more flavor, I mixed a can of cream of mushroom soup with the cream cheese. Very easy recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceyleah74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had a little trouble closing the seams so they weren't very "pretty" but they were a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Sorry didn't like these at all! Very bland and too much cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Artichoke Chicken

Baked chicken with a cheesy, creamy sauce and artichoke hearts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States