Boiling Water Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I love this recipe! I have used a very similar recipe that calls for boiling water, but just regular flour. I call it my "no-fail" crust. Like all crusts, it's subjective to humdity. If your crust is too dry/too sticky, it could be the humidity of your house and the amount of flour can be reduced/increased by spoonfuls accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holley Collins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I am not an expert at crusts by any means. It's the one cooking/baking area that I am pretty weak in. This recipe is amazing once you get the method of handling this dough. I use it exclusively with the Chicken Pot Pie IX found on this site. The result is absolutely amazing. I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe, it is fine as is. If you are using it immediately after mixing, be prepared to use more flour when you roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This recipe made a tender, flaky golden crust for my turkey pot pie. Definitely the best crust I've ever made, and oh, so simple! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I tried this recipe and found that it worked very well. In fact, I'm using it tonight for a mince meat pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I used butter instead of shortening and it was just what I needed for my pot pie! Add a little sweet and it would be perfect for a dessert pie too! Edited to add: I made this using shortening instead of butter last night and I won't do that again. It made it difficult to use/roll out. I'll make it again but I'll use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
My first attempt at making homemade chicken pot pie worked thanks to this recipe and the Chicken Pot Pie IX recipe from this website! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Made this with the Chicken Pot Pie IX recipe and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
great recipe!!! though kinda hard to roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love this recipe. It was easy to make and was very tasty on my home made pot pies. Though I did use butter instead of shortening. But it was still very good! LOVE it!! I made three little pot pies with one serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I have made this crust several times. I use it for home made chicken pot pies. It is really a great crust to use for this and my family loves it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angenette
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States