Boiling Water Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I love this recipe! I have used a very similar recipe that calls for boiling water, but just regular flour. I call it my "no-fail" crust. Like all crusts, it's subjective to humdity. If your crust is too dry/too sticky, it could be the humidity of your house and the amount of flour can be reduced/increased by spoonfuls accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holley Collins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I used butter instead of shortening and it was just what I needed for my pot pie! Add a little sweet and it would be perfect for a dessert pie too! Edited to add: I made this using shortening instead of butter last night and I won't do that again. It made it difficult to use/roll out. I'll make it again but I'll use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I tried this recipe and found that it worked very well. In fact, I'm using it tonight for a mince meat pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Other than a pain to roll out this was a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This crust was way too crumbly. After refrigerating the dough, I had to let it warm up to even try to roll it out. I'm wondering why the recipe says to refrigerate at all, since you have to let it warm up. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I used this for a quiche and it was tasty, but I had some trouble handling it. Next time I'll let it chill longer, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This recipe made a tender, flaky golden crust for my turkey pot pie. Definitely the best crust I've ever made, and oh, so simple! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
it is a very good crust.believe it or not. It comes out flaky and good. I used it for a pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States