Boiling Water Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Worked excellent! Probably the easiest crust ever! I didn't refrigerate mine either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Really nice! OMG! The dough was beautiful to work with and tasted great - as I added margarine for flavour. I made bouchees for potential clients. I ate all the extras, so no pic available. I'll go with the extra 1/4 to 1/2 cup flour. I'm only using this from now on! Tried a hot water pastry before but was disappointed. Glad I found this! Love you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I got this recipe from my Mom, who always made it when I was growing up. It never fails me... and is the flakiest crust I've made. I don't use cake flour... just ordinary flour. And I don't refrigerate it before rolling it out. I do roll out between two sheets of waxed paper (lightly sprinkle water on cutting board before putting down the first sheet of paper to keep it from moving while you're rolling) and then just peel off the top sheet and lift the bottom sheet with crust on it & invert to place over pie plate... then carefully peel off that sheet as you fit it to plate.. Works every time for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Came out great and made a delicious pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Schultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I popped this in the freezer for a half an hour then let sit at room temp for 5 minutes before rolling it out. It was beautiful to work with and came out light and flaky and perfect. I added a little sugar for personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Very nice and very easy! This is the only pastry recipe I use now. I used lard instead of shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
I tried this recipe to make a galette and I must say I didn't like it at all. I followed it to the letter, rolled it out and the dough was so sticky it was practically cake flour. It didn't stay together and my galette didn't make it off the baking pan; I tasted it and it was not good because it didn't have any sugar in the recipe! For a "no fail" recipe it sure failed spectacularly, because I had to throw out the whole thing, fruit and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
This is a truely easy and flaky pie crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
ive tried lots of pie crust recipes and this is by far the best! talk about easy! and it turns out perfect every time...so flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States