Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I won the neighborhood 4th of July chili cook off tonight with this recipe. Over 50 people voted on the 12 chilis entered, and this one won by a landslide! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I made it the day prior though and let it simmer for about 6 hours (lid off for about 4 of those hours so it would reduce nicely), then refrigerated overnight and put in my crockpot on low for another 6 hours the day of the cook off. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cosmo
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Best chilli ever! I didn't follow the recipe exactly but it was still excellent. I didn't use the beer just substituted stock. I missed out the basil too. I used three scotch bonnet chillis (2 deseeded) and the heat was perfect for me. I added more bell peppers and garlic. I served with onion rice and cheesey nachos with guacomole and sour cream for cooling. Made a lovely weekend meal and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Made this for dinner last night and found it to be very tasty and just the right amount of heat for a "general" audience of eaters. I would have given it 5 stars but the recipe lacked what I will call Pizzazz. I followed the recipe to the letter with the ingredients and amounts and just thought it lacked something to take it over the top. Don't get me wrong, this Chili is excellent in flavor and texture, but just doesn't make me wanna shout about it. I guess I'm still upset about losing my chili recipe that I used for years that was worth shouting about. I've been trying to replace it, and this recipe comes close, but can't replace "Glen's 5-Alarm Chili". I'll keep looking, and until I find it I'll keep using this one for chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Pretty good stuff. I am not much of a chili fan, but this was good. I halved the recipe as it was just for me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I have been making this chili for several years now, and it's ALWAYS a hit! From family meals to Packer parties, everybody loves it! Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Awesome chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This is the best Chili I have ever made. My Husband is not big on spicy, but OMG you should have seen him eat this. I would love to try other recipes from the person who submitted this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Made a few changes as suggested by the most helpful critical review. This is a new favorite at home. LOVE it. will continue to make this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is the best chili I've ever had. Plan and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Yummy! I followed the recipe exact but added a jar of ghost pepper salsa for super spicyness, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States