Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I made this chili for a Christmas dinner at work and it made me famous at the shop. After I refused to give out the recipe a few times, I literally had a co-worker offer me fifty bucks for it, (which I also turned down). I did make a couple small adjustments to this recipe. I left out the can of spicy chili beans and added another can of mild because I was worried about the chili being too spicy. I also used two jalapeno peppers instead of the green chiles, simply because I prefer the flavor of jalapenos. I was completely blown away by how fantastic this chili is. I was glad I left out the spicy beans, because it had just absolutely the perfect amount of heat. (It may still be a little too spicy for some, though, so if you don't like spicy, I would leave out the cayenne and hot sauce also). Hands down the best chili I have ever even tasted, let alone made myself. This is my new go to recipe when I want to impress a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Sallaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Great recipe! My sons love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole G.
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I've made my own chili concoction for as long as I remember and have never strayed from that...until now! This recipe was a bit daunting at first due to the plethora of ingredients but as I read thru them I realized I already had most of them. I substituted the Italian pork sausage for Italian style turkey sausage (because it was on sale), sub'd the celery stalks for celery seed (not a fan of celery)and used canned green chilies because I couldn't find the fresh ones in the store. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. It turned out more delicious that I imagined. My family really enjoyed it. I will definitely make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
So easy to make and it is super flavorful!!!! Next time I may leave out some spicy ness. It was a little to hot for hubby and I. But super delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
OMG! Have been using the same chili recipe for years and wanted to do something different. This was amazing! MY husband and our friends loved it. I read a few other reviews and used the 4 slices of bacon as opposed to the bacon bits and I cooked it the night before I needed to serve it. This is my new go to chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have made this recipe at least 10 times. I always cook the onions in a little oil or bacon grease first, then add to that the celery, then the bell peppers, cooking a few minutes between each addition. Then I get the flavors off of the bottom of the pot with about one quarter cup of beer, scrapping the pot with a flat wooden spoon. While doing this, I brown the meat in a separate pan with a little dash of each of the spices. When the meet is brown and the veggies are soft, I drain the meat and add it to the big veggie pot with the beef broth and spices. While that heats up, I add in the other ingredients a little at a time so that the temp in the pot stays up. Sometimes I use a de-seeded jalapeño or two instead of the green chili peppers (cooked with the other veggies at the beginning). Sometimes I use a few pieces of thick bacon crumbled into it. I don't usually use the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Awesome chili that had the perfect mix of texture, taste, and chili feeling. Left out hot sauce and only used half of one jalepeno. should have stuck with the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Doubled this recipe for a party and took the advice of reviewers. Everyone loved it! Got compliments about it the whole time. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Delicious! Add or delete whatever ingredients you like or don't like. I used ground lamb, ground round, and our homemade italian sausage. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States