Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made this recipe for a chili cookoff where I work and won first place. I used hot Italian sausage, jalepeno peppers instead of all the other peppers, two large cans of tomato puree instead of diced tomatoes and tomato paste and omitted the celery and bacon bits. When I browned the ground beef and sausage, I added the jalepeno peppers and onions. What a wonderful smell in the kitchen! I put all of the ingredients in the crock pot to simmer all night. Then when I went to work, I reheated the chili. There was plenty of time for all of the ingredients to blend into wonderful flavor. The judges of the competition were local firemen. The "heat" of this chili did not hit them right away, but after about twenty or thirty seconds, they were looking for milk! The entire pot of chili was devoured by all who attended and I was the envy of the competition. Thanks for a great recipe. Don and Sharon Evans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
this is a fantastic recipe! i made this exactly as the recipe called except used lean ground pork instead of Italian Sausage (availability), it is a great all round chili recipe that appeals to everyone, I got many compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Boyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Followed the recipe except doubled the cayenne for some extra heat.GREAT chili recipe,has lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Big hit with everyone I serve it to. Use real bacon instead of bits and save some of the grease to sautée all veggies in (as other reviewer suggested) also double beer amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
If this were a ten star I'd give it a ten ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I won the neighborhood 4th of July chili cook off tonight with this recipe. Over 50 people voted on the 12 chilis entered, and this one won by a landslide! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I made it the day prior though and let it simmer for about 6 hours (lid off for about 4 of those hours so it would reduce nicely), then refrigerated overnight and put in my crockpot on low for another 6 hours the day of the cook off. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cosmo
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Best chilli ever! I didn't follow the recipe exactly but it was still excellent. I didn't use the beer just substituted stock. I missed out the basil too. I used three scotch bonnet chillis (2 deseeded) and the heat was perfect for me. I added more bell peppers and garlic. I served with onion rice and cheesey nachos with guacomole and sour cream for cooling. Made a lovely weekend meal and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Made this for dinner last night and found it to be very tasty and just the right amount of heat for a "general" audience of eaters. I would have given it 5 stars but the recipe lacked what I will call Pizzazz. I followed the recipe to the letter with the ingredients and amounts and just thought it lacked something to take it over the top. Don't get me wrong, this Chili is excellent in flavor and texture, but just doesn't make me wanna shout about it. I guess I'm still upset about losing my chili recipe that I used for years that was worth shouting about. I've been trying to replace it, and this recipe comes close, but can't replace "Glen's 5-Alarm Chili". I'll keep looking, and until I find it I'll keep using this one for chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States