Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
It is an OK Chili, not very spicy or hot,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Delicious! Followed it as close as I do any recipe. I used fewer beans and held off on the Tabasco since it was already too spicy for my children. I loved all the flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Love this chili recipe. I did use only mild chili beans since I am a weeny when it comes to spicy foods. I topped it with sharp cheddar cheese and sour cream. This is now a staple recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this chili before and loved it. This time I tripled the batch so I could put some in the freezer and I also wanted to do a majority of the recipe can-free. My personal changes? 1) Rather than canned beans - dried beans soaked overnight and cooked the next day. 2) Rather than ground beef - an inexpensive cut of lean beef cubed. 3) Rather than bulk Italian Sausage – Chorizo (1lb for triple batch) and no Italian Sausage. 4) Rather than canned tomatoes – Tomatoes from the farmer blanched and skinned. I did use canned tomato paste. 5) Rather than canned green chile peppers – Anaheim chilies from the farmer grilled and skins removed. 6) No bacon bits. It is a bit more work to make it from fresh veggies but when you are making a batch this large it is worth the trouble for a healthier version (except for the Chorizo). It was considerably spicier this time, guessing it was from the Chorizo; I won’t do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
An excellent chili! A bit spicy for our tastes so just modified a bit to cut down on the spice. Love the use of fresh veggies and the mixture of the ground beef and Italian sausage. Good and hearty with lots of flavor. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Didn't add cumin or chili powder. Substituted kidney and cannelini beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is awesome. I doctored it a little with some extra ground beef and two cans of kernel corn and I added 3/4 cup of water to let the veggies (especially the peppers) have time to cook. But all in all it has an amazing bite that isnt too much. well done!! im excited to make this again. and for all the people who hate chopping, it took me about 20 mins to cut all the veg listed. its great! also i didnt add paprika because i didnt have any and i omitted the salt, the bullion takes care of it. love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Fitch RN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Perfect chili! The pot was so full that I had to leave out 1 can of beans and 1 can of diced tomatoes, but it was still an awesome chili. All the flavors blend well and cooking time was spot on. Since we have a toddler, I reduced the spicy ingredients quite a bit and that was a good call. It still had a good spice to it in the end. This will be my go-to chili from now on! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
My family loves this recipe! It has now been requested for dinner on my daughters 13th b.day. The only thing I did different was (I have picky eaters) I took all the veggies it required and put them in a blender and then added it to the pot. I don't mind the chunks but my kids do. It tasted great just the same and I didn't have to watch my kids picking at their food. I also made fries and velveta cheese and with the leftovers had chili cheese fries. Omg it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States