Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is a fantastic chili recipe. Made it for potluck at work. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Roth Arledge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Livingston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Have tried a few chili recipes recently and so far this is one of my favorites. The italian sausage adds something that is nice, and a little different, but in a very good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This recipe was great!! I made some modifications to make it on the healthier side and my fiancé (who is a chili guru, couldn't get enough so I knew the modifications were golden!!) Modifications: 3 lbs lean turkey instead of the chuck & sausage 1 piece of turkey bacon instead of bacon bits Light beer Xylitol sweetener instead of sugar It came out AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Great! Made for a party- was a hit- this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Woweee! Even my wife, who is not particularly a chili fan, loved this chili. OK, I must confess that I used this recipe to the tee for a chili cookoff with my fellow faculty and staff. Out of 8 chili's that were entered, this recipe took the prize by a longshot. They said that second place wasn't even close. So...thank you for a wonderful recipe, and if I could send you the trophy, I would. At least I mentioned to a few of the contestants that I "borrowed" the recipe. What great depth this chili had! So many unique flavors and textures, it truly was darn close to the best chili I've ever tasted, and I'm almost 50! This recipe is staying in my recipe box...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Loved this Chili. Great flavors. About to make it for the second time. I cut back just a little on some of the spices (for my taste)but other than that followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
4.5 stars. When people ask me for a good chili recipe, this is the one I refer them to (because they are not getting mine, lol) Very good balance of flavors that come together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I love this chili, my family loves this chili. I followed the recipe, minus the hot peppers and cayenne (small children in the house). I am making this for the 2nd time today. This is excellent as leftovers or made the day ahead. No need to freeze any because everyone wanted more when the leftovers were gone. Make it, you will not be sorry :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFChik

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Made it with Founders Porter instead of a lager, pilsner, or stout. We didn't have chili beans in my local grocery store - so we used the following: 2 cans light kidney beans, 1 can pinto beans, 1 can pink beans. Slow cooked it - 3 hours on high. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS served with french bread for scooping and cheddar cheese and sour cream. Made a (mostly) vegetarian version for the (many) friends I had giving meat up for lent (still added bullion and Worchestershire and a dash of bacon bits, with everyone's approval) that was also really delicious - I posted the recipe as a variation on this one, with suggestions on how to match if the flavor if you want to go full veg. The recipe as is, sans additions like bread, corn chips, sour cream, or cheese has 11 WW points. Reducing the meat to leaner varieties only really saves you a point - however if you try the veggie variation I posted, it has only 8 WW points per serving! Tomorrow I am going to try it with italian flavored chicken sausage. Can't wait to see how it tastes, and if that goes well will swap out the beef chuck for lean ground beef on the next go round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was the best chili I've had in a long time. I even froze it and when it was reheated it was still delicious. Can't wait to try it fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States