Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Great recipe, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Korinek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I made this two days in a row and both days I got a 10 star rating.. I omitted the hot peppers ,bacon and the beer cause I didn't have any. I cooked the beef and sausage then the veges on the stove top and then just added everything to the slow cooker.6 hours later. AWSOME.everyone I served this to said it was the best chili they ever had.thanks so much, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is NOT spicy! It barely had a kick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
More like 4.5 stars, as I've got pretty high chili standards. We make and eat a lot of chili, and have made this several times. This is one of our favorites...especially when we have time to make it. It has really good, complex flavor and like all chili, tastes even better the 2nd day after the flavors have a chance to meld together. It does take some time to make, with all the chopping and prep, but have fun and enjoy the process! I Made this along with Wazzu Tailgate Chili, and we kept flip-flopping as to which one we preferred. This will stay in the rotation. I admit this next statement isn't a news flash, but really, the quality/brand of the ingredients makes a huge difference as to the flavor. Chili Powder is a BIG one. I use Morton's and Bassett and Penzy's mostly. I get Italian sausage from an Italian market where it's made fresh. Canned tomatoes are really affect final outcome and I've found Muir Glen Organic and Hunt's have the best flavor (to our taste buds). If you like big chunks, the MG is the way to go. For people who prefer a smoother, less chunky texture, Hunt's petite diced is a good option. "Heat", is a personal thing, so adjust accordingly. I can't to a lot of heat, so I cut the proportions of the hot ingredients accordingly and omitted the hot sauce, otherwise, I could tell from the recipe, it would've been too hot for me. Really a great chili, beans and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Made this for a chili competition I was hosting and it won!! I finally won! My changes: I left out the sausage and bacon (some guests couldn't eat pork) and used 3lbs ground beef, I used a full bottle of Rickards Red beer, used only 2 cans red kidney beans, and I omitted the chili peppers. I had 2 separate people tell me it tasted like Wendy's chili. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I actually changed some things. Im a man who loves spice, and meat!!! So i used a pound of cooked bacon and also added chopped ststeak. I also substitued the chopped celery and stuff for the canned mix of celery, peppers and the lot.. I also substituted the peppers for one ghost chilli pepper seeded and chopped. I cooked in the crock pot for 8 hrs on low. The longer you cook the spicier it gets ! Amazing recrecipe! Handed it out to multiple guys at work who loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
THIS IS THE BEST CHILI! Love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Everybody raves about "my" chili. I kick it up a notch by adding 3 chopped Serrano peppers. I also use chunks of steak. It's the best recipe I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Since I found this recipe, it is the only one I use for chili! Love love love!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Very good chili! We had fun making it and eating it over a very cold weekend. These ingredients are a great starting point, easy to adjust based on taste preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States