Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I love trying new chili recipes and this did not disappoint. I substituted turkey in place of the beef and no one could tell the difference. There is just so much flavor here. I used a porter, a full bottle less a few drinks:) and added extra chili powder and hot sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I absolutely love chili of all kinds and I'd have to say this one is at the top. I prepared this for my family and particularly for my four year old son who asked me to make chili. After reading the recipe I thought it would be too spicy for the kidos. I cut the hot sauce out and replaced the can of spicy beans with regular beans and it wasn't too spicy at all. I also used elk hamburger rather than beef hamburger. After the changes the chili was still amazing!!!!! I will make this over and over again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Well, I'm one of several thousand reviewers who loved this chili. If you've found this review, than you already know all the variations people made to enhance/improve it. I replaced the ground beef with steak, cubed it and removed the fat, used flavored canned tomatoes instead of plain, used 2 Tbsp brown sugar instead of the white, and sauteed the veges and garlic in the bacon fat (I cooked 4 strips). Be sure you know the flavor of the beer you add as it will be noticed. I was afraid of too much heat so I reduced the chili powder to 1/8 cup and it was only slightly "hot." I entered our local chili cook-off contest and it won first place in the meat and bean category however, all the other entries were much spicier. For our taste buds, I'm glad I cut down on the heat. It is time consuming but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENVG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This chilli was amazing. Nothing but compliments when I made it for camping. It goes good with honey corn bread. I will definitely stick to this recipe for chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I used extra lean ground beef and turkey sausages since we don't eat pork. Plus I omitted some of the heat from this dish in order to accommodate the kids. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Great recipe. Cut cayenne and tabasco in half and still had plenty of kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I made it for my class and it was amazing! There was so much flavor and I couldn't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Really. The Best. Mild variations, but I think it's the best use ever had ... Or made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoriaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I used jalapeno peppers in the recipe as we like Spivey. Rice will tone it down...or just warm your guests. The recipe entails a lot of dicing and prep but definitely worth it. Once I added a piece of London broil which I pretty much just seared and then cut in small pieces. When I cooked this in the crock pot it was not as good just because of texture. Thee veggies cooked down more so rthey were mushU. I prefer watching the pot and simmering a few hours. It is best served next day...if u can keep it that long I always get asked when I'm making this Chile again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Engle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Awesome recipe, I did modified mine a bit. I cooked fresh bacon from butcher and put those morsels in. Also, beans I used were Boston Baked beans for chilli. Three kidney beans in mild sauce and 1 black beans can in mild chilli sauce. A few other things with ingredient amounts but nothing too crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States