Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I have made this chile 3 times and am more impressed with it after I create new batches. The one I made today included a few habanero peppers, 2 without seeds and 1 with seeds. I saw some reviews that referred to this recipe as a vegetable soup type chile but for me, all of the peppers and onions pretty much dissolved into the chile after cooking it in a crockpot on low heat for 8 hours. Whether or not this was the intention of the recipe, it turns out to be a great chile when all of the flavors meld together! I left out the celery, subbed steak for sausage, used 1 can of chile & 1 can of red kidney chile beans, and used a full can of beer. Other than that, everything was pretty much true to the recipe. I really haven't tried other chile recipes as this one is sooooo good! Yeah, it's a lot of ingredients but adds to the fun of cooking and doesn't add that much prep time. I strongly recommend that you try this and tweak the recipe to your desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Made the chili exactly according to the recipe. Didn't change a thing. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Made for guests, everyone loved and complimented flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Stayed true to the recipe. Best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pubfry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Chilli turned out fantastic. I substituted a scotch bonnet pepper for the green chilli pepper but otherwise kept the recipe exact. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
By far the best chilly I've ever made!! My wife had a chili feed and work and she defiantly had the favorite! I only wish I would get the credit for making it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Best chili I have had! Omitted the peppers cause I have picky kids and it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Served it at a poker game and it received raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Best chili recipe ever!!! THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Love this chili recipe and have made it many times. I follow it as cloaely as possible assuming i have all the ingredients. One thing i have done instead of bacon bits is use freshly cooked bacon instead, and also without when i had none on hand. The fresh bacon really does make a difference in overall flavor and i recommend it if you can Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States