Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We've been enjoying this recipe for a few years, with some tweaks for our tastes. Outstanding! I usually place everything (meat previously browned) in the slow cooker on Low all day so that dinner is ready when we are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is the second time we have made this recipe and it is even better this time. Added more chili powder this time..not very hot. We used serrachi sauce instead of tobasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I use this recipe as my loose blueprint for my chili and it is a hit every time I make it.. I've subbed in spicy sausage, changed out 2 of the cans of beans with pinto/black/kidney(pick 2) and tweeked the seasoning a bit - as well as mixed in various peppers (depending on what I have available).. thanks for sharing, it always reminds me of which direction I need to go..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dRwOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
this is definitely a keeper in the recipe box. I of course change things up. i cooked fresh bacon and used the grease to saute' the veggies. browned the stew beef and burger and then tossed it all together. The heat is to taste and i also added some liquid smoke and roasted red peppers. This is going to hunting camp and my son gave it a 2 thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumnsage

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
What a yummy treat on a cold fall evening! Thank you for sharing your recipe, was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timmi & Lizzi In The Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I have been using this recipe for years and finally decided to give it a review. This is an excellent recipe that can be modified to taste. The only substitutes I make are honey for sugar and turkey bacon for bacon bits. I leave out the beer also. I like that it incorporates both meat and some veggies so it feels heartier. Every time I make this, there are rarely any leftovers. I have been making it at least once every winter for the past few years and have made it for the in-laws as well who just loved it. The corn chips go perfectly with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have always made a pretty good chili that everyone always enjoys but was ready for a change. This chili was awesome! Entered it in the chili cook off at work and won. There were only about 10 other entries but nevertheless this is a good combo of ingredients IMO. I used large diced tomatoes and chopped the peppers and celery a little large for a chunkier texture. Probably will go smaller size on veggies next time and try a pound of steak or stew meat in lieu of a pound of burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I just made this recipe for my family. My husband and I both love recipes on the spicy side, and this was the best Chili I have ever made. I did use 1/2 lbs of spicy Italian Sausage, and 1/2 lbs of mild Italian Sausage to add a little more spice. Also, I used 3 kinds of beans - hot chili beans, light red & dark red kidney beans (drained). We can't wait to eat the leftovers tomorrow. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Came out a little spicy but the flavors are fantastic! Subbed one can of chili beans for black beans, and used a half pound of pork sausage with 1.5 of ground beef. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
AMAZING!! Followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,526) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States