Boilermaker Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This recipe is great! I love that the heat sneaks up on you. I changed just a few things. I added a pound of Italian sweet sausage in addition to the two pounds of beef. Instead of red bell pepper I used roasted red peppers out of the jar. I used a can of diced green chilies instead of fresh. I used 2 (15oz.) cans Rotel and one 28oz. can of diced tomatoes. I fried my own bacon and used probably 2 tablespoons chopped. I sautéed all the vegetables in bacon fat before throwing them in the pot. I didn't measure the amount of salt I used but it was more than called for in the recipe. I salted as I went along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Amazing recipe! I made a kosher version with a few differences and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great chili! The only alteration I made was I really spiced it up by adding a few habanero peppers, extra jalapenos and cayenne pepper. The ingredient list doesn't show jalapenos on it, but it is on the video. The chili peppers can be really spicy or mild depending on which peppers you choose. Although jalapeno's are chili peppers, on the video it showed 1 jalapeno and 2 chili peppers. It really needs at least 1 jalapeno. Served it with shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, sliced green onions and Frito's. Big hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I love this Chili! I add a can of diced fire roasted green chilis. And I don't put the spicy chilis in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorri
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I took this chili to a reception last night and it was a HIT! I used a bottle of Oatmeal Stout beer (too early in the day to drink the rest if it, so I just used the whole bottle!), 1 pound of ground chuck & 3 pounds of cubed pork tenderloin, because that's what I had on hand. The recipe was neither too salty or too spicy -it wag just right for our family & friends. Thanks for a new go-to chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is a fantastic chili recipe. The only changes I made were omitting the Italian sausage and the bacon bits. I served this for a pre-Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Hands down the best chili ever. I like to add chunks of stew meat for a little something extra!! Especially because my family is split, some like more beans, some like more meat. Gives the perfect balance of both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Great recipe. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Great chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Amazing recipe! Perfect level of spicy! I did change cans of diced tomatoes to freshly cut diced tomatoes and added a few jalepenos to satisfy the hubby! Loved the idea of using Fritos instead of plain old saltines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States