Boiled Raisin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe is saving my sanity. Having been snowed in for 2 weeks and still snowing, I was looking for something to bake. I had made this before and really liked it. I have no eggs so it is perfect. I follow the recipe exactly and it is quick, easy and most importantly, delicious. Thank you Marcie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a good basic recipe...my criteria for judging it good is that the cake turns out well even with substitutions and minor additions. I substituted 1/3 of the oil with thinly sliced apple which I boiled with raisins and currants (2 c. total); I used turbinado sugar (only one third c.) and boiled the sugar with the raisins as it is difficult to dissolve.I also used 1 TBSP cinnamon, added a small handful of sunflower seeds and 1 TBSP Baking Powder because I worried it might not rise with the addition of heavy seeds. Used Glass 9x9 pan; oven was a bit hotter. The top was crunchy and middle cooked well after 55 minutes. Easy & nutritious. Hint: dark raisins from a middle eastern grocery have a wonderfully strong flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
it was a perfect recipe. i enjoyed the very simple and quick proccess of baking this cake. my kids loved it and now ive gotta make it very often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Good, but it tasted more like a spice bread than a cake. However, given how easy it was to make and how few ingredients it required, I'd say it was a big success. I made two layers, spread a layer of grape jam in between, and then iced it with cream cheese frosting. All in all, it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
It was pretty good - but the edges and top were really hard and dry... I can only assume I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Best cake ever! love it!!! My brother topped it with wipped cream (his favorite) I had mine plain loved the raisins (I played Fluff in Honk loved raisins) Want to bake again and again and again. Want to eat more! (age 7) I made it my self!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe for the whole family. My husband and my 3 year old loved it. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar and it was perfect. I am already on my second time making it in a month. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
It is a very light, butterless, eggless, milkless cake but it does need improvment. Next time I will reduce sugar (half of it would be OK) and double the spices. I will also use a bigger baking pan. My cake was too thick and moist, even after an hour baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
hmmm...wasn't exactly what i was expecting....very dense for my taste...did improve over the days, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States