Boiled Raisin Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe is saving my sanity. Having been snowed in for 2 weeks and still snowing, I was looking for something to bake. I had made this before and really liked it. I have no eggs so it is perfect. I follow the recipe exactly and it is quick, easy and most importantly, delicious. Thank you Marcie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a good basic recipe...my criteria for judging it good is that the cake turns out well even with substitutions and minor additions. I substituted 1/3 of the oil with thinly sliced apple which I boiled with raisins and currants (2 c. total); I used turbinado sugar (only one third c.) and boiled the sugar with the raisins as it is difficult to dissolve.I also used 1 TBSP cinnamon, added a small handful of sunflower seeds and 1 TBSP Baking Powder because I worried it might not rise with the addition of heavy seeds. Used Glass 9x9 pan; oven was a bit hotter. The top was crunchy and middle cooked well after 55 minutes. Easy & nutritious. Hint: dark raisins from a middle eastern grocery have a wonderfully strong flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
it was a perfect recipe. i enjoyed the very simple and quick proccess of baking this cake. my kids loved it and now ive gotta make it very often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Good, but it tasted more like a spice bread than a cake. However, given how easy it was to make and how few ingredients it required, I'd say it was a big success. I made two layers, spread a layer of grape jam in between, and then iced it with cream cheese frosting. All in all, it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
It was pretty good - but the edges and top were really hard and dry... I can only assume I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Best cake ever! love it!!! My brother topped it with wipped cream (his favorite) I had mine plain loved the raisins (I played Fluff in Honk loved raisins) Want to bake again and again and again. Want to eat more! (age 7) I made it my self!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe for the whole family. My husband and my 3 year old loved it. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar and it was perfect. I am already on my second time making it in a month. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
It is a very light, butterless, eggless, milkless cake but it does need improvment. Next time I will reduce sugar (half of it would be OK) and double the spices. I will also use a bigger baking pan. My cake was too thick and moist, even after an hour baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
hmmm...wasn't exactly what i was expecting....very dense for my taste...did improve over the days, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States