Boiled Potatoes with Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Very tasty, and oh so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
People sometimes make fun of the super-simple recipes, but for beginning cooks, recipes like this can really help them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
WOW...amazing simplicity!!! It does not get any easier than this recipe...but they are so tasty!!! I sometimes sprinkle on some fresh grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
It is good to remember the simple. At the moment, all I had were gold potatoes and parsley so here is my tweaked version of the recipe: I, as someone suggested, used some garlic to add a bit of flavor. I instead boil the potatoes until soft but still firm. Then, I melted the butter in a pan and added one crushed garlic clove (use 2 if cooking for 4) and cooked it until fragant (a few seconds). Last, I added the potatoes to the pan with a tablespoon of the water I used for boiling them. I cooked it until it warmed up a bit turned the stove off and sprinkled fresh parsley. The water thickens a bit the butter so your potatoes have a tiny bit of creamyness. Do not over toss the potatoes because then you will smash them inadvertently. The trick is using minimal tossing with the spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Chives is good on this, and so is parsley. I find Rosemary a little strong, but I really like Thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is just good old fashioned in your own kitchen cooking. It proves simple is best. Others suggested adding garlic, rosemary and so on. I say...knock yourself out! Whatever trips your trigger. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
agree this is simple. but that is what's so great about it. I use garden grown chives especially for this. I add a crescent sliced onions to the boiling water @5 minutes from finish. just a great easy side dish to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Easy and tasty. Perfect side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Sweany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Made it a second time tonight. I add 2 - cloves of garlic to the recipe. Quite good. I may try it with rosemary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
We were all beginners at some point so while this recipe is simple, it serves a purpose. Very good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Mashburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States