Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
An old southern tradition in my family, boiled peanuts are good when simmered for 2-3 hours. Make sure you use raw or green peanuts for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avondale Estates, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Yummy! The whole family loves this treat and I am glad that I can now make them myself. I added a bit more salt and some tabasco sauce which only added a bit more flavor. I will definitely be making this more. I think I will add some jalapenos and onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
We loved this! Added some liquid crab boil for a kick and only cooked 2 lbs of the peanuts. Once they came to a good boil, I then transferred them to the crockpot and cooked on low overnight and all next day. They were perfect! Made hubby quite happy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Boiled peanuts are the best. My dad has been making them for years. When we moved away from the south we had to learn how as they are not readily available everywhere. I was surprised how easy they are to make and you can put them in the crock pot as well, they take about 12 hours that way when cooked on high. I was excited to learn my dad recently introduced my daughter to them and she loves them. Make sure you use raw peanuts. We have tried with roasted and they do not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Simple recipe, great results! I couldn't stop eating them. Works best with green peanuts. You need to make sure that you watch the water level. I had to keep adding water to keep the level up. Just don't add more salt though. I made that mistake the first time. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I am from the south and I love boiled peanuts. I have found that using a crock pot for boiling peanuts is great. It helps retain more of the water (you may still need to add a little). But you can just set it and only have check on it every hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
this was great..i made this recipe by half the suggested amounts. i slow cooked mine in a crock pot.. took about 24 hours... i also put in 4 beef bouliion cubes.. i like the brine a bit richer myself.. very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
These tasted exactly like my Georgia-born mother-in-law's boiled peanuts. I probably doubled the amount of salt and after cooking for 3 hours on the stove, I transferred them to a crock pot on low heat for 7 hours. They were worth the wait! Next time I'd use a little less salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Ahhh, good ole' boiled peanuts! Yum! This is another Yankee girl who loves them. The owner of the local produce market here told me to use green peanuts. Great recipe. **UPDATE** My source at the local produce market also told me that you can freeze uncooked green peanuts for up to three months before you boil them. I tried it and it turned out beautifully...I just made sure they were completely thawed before I boiled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Love boiled peanuts! I tried this using green peanuts in the slow cooker and it worked out great. My first attempt at this resulted in a "kitchen tragedy"..After boiling them for 3 hours on the stove, for some reason the steam did something to my over the stove microwave. Not sure what happened, but it never worked again.I have a new microwave over the stove now and have decided not to do any cooking that consist of long hours of boiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States