Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I like mine salty: the trick (to get the right flavor), is to boil them to the right consistancy, usually about 2 hours. Then, if you want them saltier, DO NOT add more salt and boil some more. Rather, let them sit in their brine as it cools. Every 20 minutes or so, taste one. When they are salty enough for you, drain them. (This means you don't have to taste hot peanuts, and they don't get too soggy. It also gets them saltier quicker.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
479 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
The only thing this recipe lacks is a reminder to let the peanuts sink. You really must let them sit in the water until they sink for them to be really excellent. Also don't be afraid to put in some different spices. Bay leaf is very good in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Boiled peanuts are the best. My dad has been making them for years. When we moved away from the south we had to learn how as they are not readily available everywhere. I was surprised how easy they are to make and you can put them in the crock pot as well, they take about 12 hours that way when cooked on high. I was excited to learn my dad recently introduced my daughter to them and she loves them. Make sure you use raw peanuts. We have tried with roasted and they do not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
add 5 tablespoons of cayenne,5 whole cloves of garlic and 6 whole dried red chiles ,then you have a real boiled peanut recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
peanuts came out great,i made about 5lbs,whats the best way to store them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
After spending 20 yrs in Ga. then moving to Buffalo I couldn't find boiled peanuts anywhere here so decided totry making my own this recipe was easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
An old southern tradition in my family, boiled peanuts are good when simmered for 2-3 hours. Make sure you use raw or green peanuts for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avondale Estates, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
We loved this! Added some liquid crab boil for a kick and only cooked 2 lbs of the peanuts. Once they came to a good boil, I then transferred them to the crockpot and cooked on low overnight and all next day. They were perfect! Made hubby quite happy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Our family loves boiled peanuts. They taste so much better than the name sounds. To get a saltier taste, we used rock salt instead of plain salt. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Yummy! The whole family loves this treat and I am glad that I can now make them myself. I added a bit more salt and some tabasco sauce which only added a bit more flavor. I will definitely be making this more. I think I will add some jalapenos and onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States