Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
We love to add tabasco or hot sauce and cajun spices to ours for a bite. Also, rather than add salt, you can let the peanuts cool in the brine and they will soak up the salt. I love boiled P-nuts!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I've never liked boiled peanuts before, but these were excellant. They were so easy to do. My husband bought 2lbs for me to try making. I solved the forgeting to check the water level by carrying the timer with me. I did have to add more salt after 2hrs, when I tasted them I didn't think they were salty enough. I will be making more of these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
It a good recipe it just takes a lot of time and you have to watch it. I let the water boil out of it and burned the bottom layer of the peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
this was great..i made this recipe by half the suggested amounts. i slow cooked mine in a crock pot.. took about 24 hours... i also put in 4 beef bouliion cubes.. i like the brine a bit richer myself.. very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I am from the south and I love boiled peanuts. I have found that using a crock pot for boiling peanuts is great. It helps retain more of the water (you may still need to add a little). But you can just set it and only have check on it every hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This recipe is so easy! The only bad thing-- you have to watch them a lot. I left them to boil and was busy with something else for about 30 minuets and the water boiled away and the bottom layer was burned!! I'll try it again some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Simple recipe, great results! I couldn't stop eating them. Works best with green peanuts. You need to make sure that you watch the water level. I had to keep adding water to keep the level up. Just don't add more salt though. I made that mistake the first time. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Yummy! The whole family loves this treat and I am glad that I can now make them myself. I added a bit more salt and some tabasco sauce which only added a bit more flavor. I will definitely be making this more. I think I will add some jalapenos and onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
More water. More water. More water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENJOYBEING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warren, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Boiled peanuts are the best. My dad has been making them for years. When we moved away from the south we had to learn how as they are not readily available everywhere. I was surprised how easy they are to make and you can put them in the crock pot as well, they take about 12 hours that way when cooked on high. I was excited to learn my dad recently introduced my daughter to them and she loves them. Make sure you use raw peanuts. We have tried with roasted and they do not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States