Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Just great! I love boiled peanuts, but living in So. California, I just can't get them here! I have tried to make them before on the stovetop, and they just never turned out right. I did them in the slow cooker this time. After about 12 hours, I let them cool. They were just perfect! If you have never tried boiled peanuts, go right now and make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYMSTARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I tried this recipe after trying it once with unsalted, roasted peanuts (my Alabama friend's version). The salt content and cook time are perfect, but I prefer the recipe with the roasted peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I like mine salty: the trick (to get the right flavor), is to boil them to the right consistancy, usually about 2 hours. Then, if you want them saltier, DO NOT add more salt and boil some more. Rather, let them sit in their brine as it cools. Every 20 minutes or so, taste one. When they are salty enough for you, drain them. (This means you don't have to taste hot peanuts, and they don't get too soggy. It also gets them saltier quicker.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
497 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
If you have never tried boiled peanuts, stop whatever you're doing right this minute, go out buy peanuts and get started (smile) if you do you will not be let down. TO DIE FOR!!!! OH!! WHAT EVER YOU DO BUY RAW PEANUTS IN THE SHELL, DO NOT BE TEMPTED TO BUY ROASTED IT WILL TAKE AWAY FROM THE TRUE BOIL PEANUT EXPERIENCE, TAKE IT FROM A SOUTHERN WOMAN HERE!!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Love boiled peanuts! I tried this using green peanuts in the slow cooker and it worked out great. My first attempt at this resulted in a "kitchen tragedy"..After boiling them for 3 hours on the stove, for some reason the steam did something to my over the stove microwave. Not sure what happened, but it never worked again.I have a new microwave over the stove now and have decided not to do any cooking that consist of long hours of boiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Ahhh, good ole' boiled peanuts! Yum! This is another Yankee girl who loves them. The owner of the local produce market here told me to use green peanuts. Great recipe. **UPDATE** My source at the local produce market also told me that you can freeze uncooked green peanuts for up to three months before you boil them. I tried it and it turned out beautifully...I just made sure they were completely thawed before I boiled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
These tasted exactly like my Georgia-born mother-in-law's boiled peanuts. I probably doubled the amount of salt and after cooking for 3 hours on the stove, I transferred them to a crock pot on low heat for 7 hours. They were worth the wait! Next time I'd use a little less salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
We loved this! Added some liquid crab boil for a kick and only cooked 2 lbs of the peanuts. Once they came to a good boil, I then transferred them to the crockpot and cooked on low overnight and all next day. They were perfect! Made hubby quite happy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
add 5 tablespoons of cayenne,5 whole cloves of garlic and 6 whole dried red chiles ,then you have a real boiled peanut recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
The trick to this recipe is to use a LARGE pot if you're going to do 5 pounds of peanuts. You won't have any fear of running out of water if they have plenty of water to begin with. I added 4 beef boullion cubes to the water to make it more rich. This yankee LOVES boiled peanuts!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States