Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
LOL! I laughed when I saw this recipe. I am from the midwest, and when I came to the deep south, you would see people set up on the side of the road selling "boiled peanuts". Never heard of it! So I decided to try it and thought they were the most disgusting thing I had ever tasted!!! I tried them a few years later, and they had not been boiled to the point of mush. I have since LOVED making them, even introducing my sister and brother-in-law, who live in Chicago, to them. They did not go over well. But I'll keep trying!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
These are great...so many people have never tried boiled peanuts, they are missin out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I LOVE BOILED PEANUTS. I USE A FEW SPOONFULS OF SOY SAUCE TO FLAVOR THE WATER(A TRICK I LEARNED DOWN SOUTH). IT ALWAYS TAKES 6-8 HOURS FOR MY PEANUTS TO COOK. I HAVE TO KEEP ADDING MORE FLAVORED WATER AS IT COOKS OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Been eating em since I was a kid, most everyone loves em in Hawaii, although lots of different preferences.Some salty/or not,soft/firm,juicy/dry, hot/cold, or with differents spices.I like mine salty,firm,juicy,cold with no additional spices.I typically use 2# raw peanuts, wash in cold H2O then fill to cover peanuts and bring to boil on high, when boiling reduce to med/high for 1 more hour(make sure there is always enough H2O to cover nuts and stir occasionally to even out cooking). At 1 hour add 6 oz. sea/rock salt and boil for another 30 min. After 30 min. turn off heat and let sit for 4-5 hours or until cool(this makes em more juicy, you can even put a plate over them to weigh them down, just make sure there is enough H2O to cover them). If you drain nuts while they are hot the steam evaporating will make them drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Yecch! I didn't like this one. Roasted or even raw peanuts are much much much much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
For some reason these are really popular in Hawaii as well...use star anise (the star pods, not the seeds) and sea salt for flavoring. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I live in the south, so boiled peanuts are second nature. I like the jumbo virginia white peanuts. Make sure any peanut you boil are what we call green peanuts (fresh out of the garden). People here also make Cajun Boiled Peanuts. You cook the same way, but you add crab boil to the water, and of course lots of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSIEBABI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklinton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
The only thing this recipe lacks is a reminder to let the peanuts sink. You really must let them sit in the water until they sink for them to be really excellent. Also don't be afraid to put in some different spices. Bay leaf is very good in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I love them right from the pot! The salty goodness is addicting! I like to taste test the boiled nuts before turning off the burner - these are not fussy so you won't ruin them. Nothing like standing at the kitchen sink eating fresh boiled peanuts with friends or family ...to be washed down with a cold beer of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
YUM! These peanuts take me back to when I was a teenager and used to play softball in rural Georgia, and there would always be someone selling boiled peanuts at the softball fields. I'd indulge in them after the games, win or lose. I only used 1lb of peanuts and eye-balled the salt. Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States