Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I boiled 2.5 lbs of peanuts and reduced the salt to a little less than 1/2 cup. The peanuts were too salty for me. After four to five boil and rinse cycles and the last one with some peanuts deshelled, the peanuts had only a slight hint of salt, which is the way I like it. Next time I will try with 1/8 cup of salt and other herbs or spices for a healthy low salt treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I add soy sauce, franks hot sauce, beer, Worcestershire. YUMMY-YUMMY-YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
AWESOME!!! I don't have to wait to go to the beach or mountains anymore! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Would give this more stars if I could. The only change I made was to add some crushed red peppers to give the peanuts some bite. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I like my boiled peanuts soft and these took forever to finish. Only had 2.5lbs of peanuts, so used a half cup of salt. Honestly, I think that was too much. I wasn't expecting it to be salty at all. Not with only half a cup, but it was. It probably helped that I cooked them for so long and then let them sit in the brine to cool though. I brought it to a boil, and turned it down to a simmer. I had to refill the pot about 6 times in the 7 hours it took for the peanuts to get to the texture that I desired. Next time, I'll reduce the salt just a bit more, and will probably add in other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Really great, but I doubled the salt and only cooked the peanuts for 45 min- 1 hour. 3 hours is way too long. They would've been mushy and inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
3 lb green peanuts. 1/2 cup salt. 1/4 cup cajun seasoning. 1 heaping tablespoon of cayenne. water. 8 quart pot. Rinse green peanuts in water several times. Cover green peanuts with water in the pot and turn up heat to high. Add salt, cajun seasoning, cayenne. Boil for three hours, check on them frequently, and stir. Add boiling water as needed. Allow to cool off in brine before draining. Don't drain them right away because they could dry out if you drain them when they're still piping. Let sit in pot until cool before you drain them..the longer they sit in the brine, the saltier/spicier they get. Can freeze uncooked green peanuts for up to three months before use. Thaw before boiling! Can freeze cooked boiled peanuts and throw them in a pot of boiling water when ready to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanacore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Worked perfectly! I used 2 bags of peanuts (1 lb each) and 1 cup of kosher salt. Boiled for about 2 and a half hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABeyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great recipe. We like the traditional way of making boiled peanuts, I know each southern region has their own way of making peanuts, but this is the way I remember from trips to the North Georgia mountains when I was a kid. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Shirah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States