Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I used 2 lbs. of raw peanuts, a bay leaf and a cup of Kosher salt. It took many more cups of water to keep the peanuts covered after boiling mine for 25 hours to get the right consistency that we like. I asked our peanut farm how long it usually takes to boil peanuts and they said at least 18 hours. They've never heard of boiled peanuts being done in 3 hours. I loved how mine turned out and will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Skippers, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I had to boil the peanuts for 5 hours. They are good, but never got soft and mushy like I have had them in the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
All I can say is WOW! I've never had boiled peanuts before but wanted to try them after I watched an episode of Dinner Party Wars where a New Orleans cook prepared them. Fantastic. I followed advise of others and added cayenne, garlic cloves and one smoked habanero pepper to the brine. Let them cool down in the brine and they certainly did take on more flavour as they cooled. Making a huge batch of these for our annual "Furnace Head" cook out this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DT's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Adjusted the salt, had to boil for A LOT longer than suggested and had to add water several times. Overall, good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Mine are boiling right now!!! Can't wait to eat them. For those of you living in UTAH... you can get them locally at Ocean Mart (Asian market) on 9000 S. 115 W. They are in the produce section. Just over $2/lb. Hopefully you haven't spend ridiculous amounts of time looking for them like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar Hills, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I have never made boiled peanuts before and had only tried them once-hated them. My husband spent summers in SC as a kid and loved them. When I saw raw peanuts on sale figured I would give them a try. I put them in a crock pot on low and cooked overnight-thanks for that tip! My husband loves them and I don't mind them either because they are not all mushy like the ones I tried before. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
It nearly impossible to find green peanuts outside the deep south. I have found them in Chinese produce markets and have learned how to ask for them there-Sun Fa Sin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I boiled 2.5 lbs of peanuts and reduced the salt to a little less than 1/2 cup. The peanuts were too salty for me. After four to five boil and rinse cycles and the last one with some peanuts deshelled, the peanuts had only a slight hint of salt, which is the way I like it. Next time I will try with 1/8 cup of salt and other herbs or spices for a healthy low salt treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I add soy sauce, franks hot sauce, beer, Worcestershire. YUMMY-YUMMY-YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
AWESOME!!! I don't have to wait to go to the beach or mountains anymore! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States