Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I added a few drops of crab boil to the water and just like the most helpful review mentioned, I turned them off after 2 hours and then let them sit in their brine and tested them every 30 minutes until they were too my liking. Simple recipe and one you can add things to suit your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
20 minutes in the pressure cooker and done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Great basic recipe that I've always used. Growing up in the South, boiled peanuts are a summer must have. I always add a bit more salt (and if I'm feeling brave cajun seasoning) but this is a great base recipe for delicious boiled peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I used 2 lbs. of raw peanuts, a bay leaf and a cup of Kosher salt. It took many more cups of water to keep the peanuts covered after boiling mine for 25 hours to get the right consistency that we like. I asked our peanut farm how long it usually takes to boil peanuts and they said at least 18 hours. They've never heard of boiled peanuts being done in 3 hours. I loved how mine turned out and will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Skippers, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I had to boil the peanuts for 5 hours. They are good, but never got soft and mushy like I have had them in the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
All I can say is WOW! I've never had boiled peanuts before but wanted to try them after I watched an episode of Dinner Party Wars where a New Orleans cook prepared them. Fantastic. I followed advise of others and added cayenne, garlic cloves and one smoked habanero pepper to the brine. Let them cool down in the brine and they certainly did take on more flavour as they cooled. Making a huge batch of these for our annual "Furnace Head" cook out this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DT's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Adjusted the salt, had to boil for A LOT longer than suggested and had to add water several times. Overall, good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Mine are boiling right now!!! Can't wait to eat them. For those of you living in UTAH... you can get them locally at Ocean Mart (Asian market) on 9000 S. 115 W. They are in the produce section. Just over $2/lb. Hopefully you haven't spend ridiculous amounts of time looking for them like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar Hills, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I have never made boiled peanuts before and had only tried them once-hated them. My husband spent summers in SC as a kid and loved them. When I saw raw peanuts on sale figured I would give them a try. I put them in a crock pot on low and cooked overnight-thanks for that tip! My husband loves them and I don't mind them either because they are not all mushy like the ones I tried before. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
It nearly impossible to find green peanuts outside the deep south. I have found them in Chinese produce markets and have learned how to ask for them there-Sun Fa Sin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States