Boiled Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
The onions, garlic, lemons, oranges, and celery, did not add to the flavor of the lobster. I did not add jalapeno peppers. The black pepper taste was overwhelming and did not seem an appropriate flavor for the delicate lobster. Not sure if the salt was appropriate either because lobster always tastes salty from the ocean water. To get all the above ingredients into the water took way too long. The lobster was ready in about 8 minutes (til it turns red). The lobster meat would have turned very tough if it had cooked any longer than that (judging from past experience). Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I'm sure flavor was imparted into the Lobster with all the ingredients in the boil, but I really didn't notice anything special. I made a lemon butter sauce too for dipping which made a difference more than anything. Cook-time is according to the size of your lobsters as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
My mother-in-law won some lobsters last year, after many attempts she was able to get them shipped to us as they don't eat lobster. I opened the box excited to find our 4 lobster TAILS for us to grill that night, only to find four LIVE lobsters, which I have never ever cooked. This recipe saved dinner! While I can't comment on how lobsters boiled in plain water would compare, ours were delicious. I followed the recipe exactly (fused 3 jalepeno's) and followed one reviewers cooking times for small Maine lobsters or "chickens" as they are apparently called. Lobsters had a great flavor without hiding the lobster taste, my husband and I loved them and so did our 3 and 6 year olds (yes, we should have sent them to bed and eaten all 4 ourselves, but they thought it was great fun). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I do not eat lobster but my husband loves them. I have been cooking lobster from him and his buddy for over 3 years now and i only use this recipe except i leave out jalapeno pepper because i never seem to have them at my house. I get thumbs up every single time. FIY my husband is a very picky eater. I have water boiling right now as I'm waiting for him to came back with lobsters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Turned out to be a wonderful recipe. I halfed the recipe because I was cooking only one lobster. This was my first time preparing this type of dish. I must ad,it, this recipe turned out to be perfect. Also, I added a teaspoon of thyme find two bay leaves for additional flavor. Delicious!!!!! Note: Before you cook your lobster make sure you have the appropriate cooking time for the weight of your lobster. Cook times vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I MADE THIS 3 TIMES AND IT WAS YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanna1976

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Interesting additions... Do all those ingredients really change the flavor of one of the best tasting foods in the world? We'll try it... Cooking lobster tonight. FYI, boiling small, Maine lobsters ("chickens") takes way less time. Put'm in boilin' water --- bring pot back to full boil for 5 minutes. Then kill the burner but keep the chickens in the water for another 5 -- sweet and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
really added lots of flavor, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
its lobster heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bbarley
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
simple, delicious I saved the onions afterwards, and used them for cooking additional dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbarley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States