Boiled Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Was looking for a last minute fruit-cake recipe for Christmas - I made this at 9pm on Christmas eve and it was a hit on Christmas day! My husband even came back for seconds. I did add about 5% more on the fruit side... made for a wonderfully heavy and moist cake (mother did always say that the worth of the fruitcake is told by the weighing!) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Great recipe! I did not wrap the pans with paper & they still turned out perfectly. I doubled the recipe for two pans. Used 2 C raisins, 1 C dates, 2 C craisins, 6oz pineapple and 2 C apricots instead of the cherries and citrus peel. 1 tsp cloves & 2 tsp cinnamon - the perfect amount. The house smells wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
Really easy, moist and delicious! This was the first fruitcake I've ever made, and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is fantastic! It's my first attempt at fruitcake and not only was it delicious, it's easy. I misread the directions (oops) and used candied fruit rather than dried fruit, so the cake is probably a bit sweeter than it should be; next time I will use the candied fruit (it's so pretty in the cake) but cut the sugar by about 1/3. I also soaked the candied fruit in rum for a week, which gave it a nice, rich flavor. There was way more batter than for one loaf pan, so I also made three small cakes in ramekins and wanted to try infusing them with rum for two weeks, but my husband ate them on the second day! Thanks for the great recipe! -- Jax in the French Alps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Made it for Chinese New Year, in mini meatloaf pans as gifts to family and friends. This recipe is easy to follow and it really only takes 20 minutes to whip up everything before heading to the oven. The finished product is moist and dense in flavour, probably due to the fact that I pre-soaked my fruits and nuts in rum for about a year. It aged better that way and the flavour comes out concentrated. This will be my family fruitcake recipe I will use year in and out! Thanks Mark! BonnieVic-Malaysia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I’ve made this cake several times during the past holiday season because it was such a big hit with family and friends. This is a great recipe. Each time, after the first, I changed the recipe a little just to see how it would turn out. I used a little more fruit and nuts and a little less flour because the recipe is very forgiving. I also drizzled the cakes with orange liqueur. Each cake was fabulous and the cake just gets better after it ages a couple of days. Thank you so much for this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
mmmmmmm, this fruitcake is absolutely marvelous! i followed the directions as written, using slightly rounded but equal proportions of the 5 spice blend (i didn't have "mixed spice" in my cupboard). for the dried mixed fruit elements i used 1/2 cup dark raisins, 1/2 cup apricots & 1 cup michigan cherries. the smells are so wonderful during the cooking/baking process! i made this on 12/22/04 & adore how the flavors come together as this fruitcake ages. thank you for sharing your mom's recipe with us, mark!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
Made this with nursery children, very simple to make, (in two stages to allow adult to boil and cool first stage.) Great results twice, so nice head teacher decided to give all parents some to take home, great reception from parents, this cake will be come an annual event, thanks Mark. Dorothy, in Scotland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Tried this recipe and the results were heavenly. Great tasting and moist as ever. I use this recipe everytime I cook a fruit cake. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
absolutly brilliant and so versitile, really easy to make a big hit with all the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States