Boiled Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
it was still good even though i only baked them for 45minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I’ve made this cake several times during the past holiday season because it was such a big hit with family and friends. This is a great recipe. Each time, after the first, I changed the recipe a little just to see how it would turn out. I used a little more fruit and nuts and a little less flour because the recipe is very forgiving. I also drizzled the cakes with orange liqueur. Each cake was fabulous and the cake just gets better after it ages a couple of days. Thank you so much for this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ERIKA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Grrrreat recipe, rich, flavourful...a complete twist to my all time traditional fruitcake recipe. Definetely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I have never been a fan of fruit cakes because I hate that fake fruit in there. I used different dried fruits(mixed berries,apricot,dates and pineapple) It turn out excellent. I would say I am a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Great recipe! I did not wrap the pans with paper & they still turned out perfectly. I doubled the recipe for two pans. Used 2 C raisins, 1 C dates, 2 C craisins, 6oz pineapple and 2 C apricots instead of the cherries and citrus peel. 1 tsp cloves & 2 tsp cinnamon - the perfect amount. The house smells wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is fantastic! It's my first attempt at fruitcake and not only was it delicious, it's easy. I misread the directions (oops) and used candied fruit rather than dried fruit, so the cake is probably a bit sweeter than it should be; next time I will use the candied fruit (it's so pretty in the cake) but cut the sugar by about 1/3. I also soaked the candied fruit in rum for a week, which gave it a nice, rich flavor. There was way more batter than for one loaf pan, so I also made three small cakes in ramekins and wanted to try infusing them with rum for two weeks, but my husband ate them on the second day! Thanks for the great recipe! -- Jax in the French Alps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
i suffer with arthritas in arms and hand found this rescipe very easy to do as it is all done in saucepan ritas or anyother arm and hand problems
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
My oven seems to be a turbo fan forced without an option to swap to slow, so when I followed the times as suggested the cake was too dry. On my second go I shaved off 20 minutes for the second part, came out ok, but I think I could still go another 10 minutes and it would be great. So to recap 40min at 160 and then 1 hour at 150 - but do test! For the Australians out there here is the cup version of the recipe. 2 cups mixed fruit; 1 cup glace cherries - not chopped, so you need to chop them up after meausuring; 1/4 cup mixed peel; 1/2 cup walnuts - not chopped up, so will need to do that as well; 2 cups white sugar; 170g butter; 1 cup milk; 1/2 teaspoon mixed spice ( I used 1 teaspoon); 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda ( same as baking soda); 2 1/2 cups self raising flour; 2 eggs. I also soaked the mixed fruit in rum for a few days as well. Oh by the way, none of the first dry cake was left, gone within days. My husband said it was perfectly OK...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
mmmmmmm, this fruitcake is absolutely marvelous! i followed the directions as written, using slightly rounded but equal proportions of the 5 spice blend (i didn't have "mixed spice" in my cupboard). for the dried mixed fruit elements i used 1/2 cup dark raisins, 1/2 cup apricots & 1 cup michigan cherries. the smells are so wonderful during the cooking/baking process! i made this on 12/22/04 & adore how the flavors come together as this fruitcake ages. thank you for sharing your mom's recipe with us, mark!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Made it for Chinese New Year, in mini meatloaf pans as gifts to family and friends. This recipe is easy to follow and it really only takes 20 minutes to whip up everything before heading to the oven. The finished product is moist and dense in flavour, probably due to the fact that I pre-soaked my fruits and nuts in rum for about a year. It aged better that way and the flavour comes out concentrated. This will be my family fruitcake recipe I will use year in and out! Thanks Mark! BonnieVic-Malaysia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States