Boiled Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
Really easy, moist and delicious! This was the first fruitcake I've ever made, and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
Made this with nursery children, very simple to make, (in two stages to allow adult to boil and cool first stage.) Great results twice, so nice head teacher decided to give all parents some to take home, great reception from parents, this cake will be come an annual event, thanks Mark. Dorothy, in Scotland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
absolutly brilliant and so versitile, really easy to make a big hit with all the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Was looking for a last minute fruit-cake recipe for Christmas - I made this at 9pm on Christmas eve and it was a hit on Christmas day! My husband even came back for seconds. I did add about 5% more on the fruit side... made for a wonderfully heavy and moist cake (mother did always say that the worth of the fruitcake is told by the weighing!) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Tried this recipe and the results were heavenly. Great tasting and moist as ever. I use this recipe everytime I cook a fruit cake. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Made it for Chinese New Year, in mini meatloaf pans as gifts to family and friends. This recipe is easy to follow and it really only takes 20 minutes to whip up everything before heading to the oven. The finished product is moist and dense in flavour, probably due to the fact that I pre-soaked my fruits and nuts in rum for about a year. It aged better that way and the flavour comes out concentrated. This will be my family fruitcake recipe I will use year in and out! Thanks Mark! BonnieVic-Malaysia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
mmmmmmm, this fruitcake is absolutely marvelous! i followed the directions as written, using slightly rounded but equal proportions of the 5 spice blend (i didn't have "mixed spice" in my cupboard). for the dried mixed fruit elements i used 1/2 cup dark raisins, 1/2 cup apricots & 1 cup michigan cherries. the smells are so wonderful during the cooking/baking process! i made this on 12/22/04 & adore how the flavors come together as this fruitcake ages. thank you for sharing your mom's recipe with us, mark!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
My oven seems to be a turbo fan forced without an option to swap to slow, so when I followed the times as suggested the cake was too dry. On my second go I shaved off 20 minutes for the second part, came out ok, but I think I could still go another 10 minutes and it would be great. So to recap 40min at 160 and then 1 hour at 150 - but do test! For the Australians out there here is the cup version of the recipe. 2 cups mixed fruit; 1 cup glace cherries - not chopped, so you need to chop them up after meausuring; 1/4 cup mixed peel; 1/2 cup walnuts - not chopped up, so will need to do that as well; 2 cups white sugar; 170g butter; 1 cup milk; 1/2 teaspoon mixed spice ( I used 1 teaspoon); 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda ( same as baking soda); 2 1/2 cups self raising flour; 2 eggs. I also soaked the mixed fruit in rum for a few days as well. Oh by the way, none of the first dry cake was left, gone within days. My husband said it was perfectly OK...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
i suffer with arthritas in arms and hand found this rescipe very easy to do as it is all done in saucepan ritas or anyother arm and hand problems
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is fantastic! It's my first attempt at fruitcake and not only was it delicious, it's easy. I misread the directions (oops) and used candied fruit rather than dried fruit, so the cake is probably a bit sweeter than it should be; next time I will use the candied fruit (it's so pretty in the cake) but cut the sugar by about 1/3. I also soaked the candied fruit in rum for a week, which gave it a nice, rich flavor. There was way more batter than for one loaf pan, so I also made three small cakes in ramekins and wanted to try infusing them with rum for two weeks, but my husband ate them on the second day! Thanks for the great recipe! -- Jax in the French Alps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States