Boiled Fruit Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Great recipe! My mother used to make this for us (all eight of us!). Her recipe came from Ireland with my great-great grandmother. My mom always used mincemeat (without suet) and walnuts. It is still my favorite recipe-great toasted and served with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I hate fruit cake, but I wanted to make one for my Grandma, who loves it, so I chose this recipe since it has connections to my Irish ancestry :) I used dried fruit instead of the candied kind - dried blueberries, cranberries & cherries, along with a box of golden raisins. Also a tablespoon or two of Bourbon :) The other alteration was half water, half milk. This recipe was so good I was eating it warm, fresh from the oven. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This recipe was super easy! I had never made a fruit cake before, so I was a little nervous about it. But it turned out perfect. My husband and I don't like fruit cake, but it was made for his boss, who loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Herron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very good recipe. I chose to make it with the traditional black tea in place of the cup of water. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishMountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I am English and I used to have a wonderful boiled fruit cake recipe that I lost. This is it except I add glace cherries and a few chopped hazlenuts to mine. Have made this 3 times in 2 weeks as the whole family love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Excellent! Not rich like most other fruitcakes. I didn't have the candied fruit, so I substituted 1 cup reg. raisins, 1 cup white raisins, 1 cup cranberries,and 1 cup blueberries. Also used brown sugar instead of white sugar.all else remained the same. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrol J. Unruh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Don't panic! The mixture amost filled my baking tin, and I was worried it would spill over during cooking, but it stayed in the pan. I cooked it for the time given but the top was a little over-done although the middle was just right, so next time I placed a piece of baking parchment with a small hole in the centre loosely over the top of the cake for the first hour of cooking, removing it for the last 30 minutes, and this gave a much better result. This is a great cake and already a firm favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This is probably one of the better boiled fruit cakes that have come out of Ireland. I like it exactly the way it is printed and it is very good spread with real butter. Thanks again for a great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe,just changed a few things,ie milk instead of water brown sugar instead of white,2 tsp of mixed spice and added a cup of glazed cherries cut in half.this is now the best fruit cake ever look no further you will not find a better recipe,and so easy to make cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This is very yummy! Note: For those of us that can't find 'mixed spice' I found a recipe for it. 1 tablespoon cinnamon 1 tablespoon nutmeg 1 tablespoon allspice 2 teaspoons mace 1 teaspoon ground cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States