Boiled Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I just made this and it didn't set. Is it supposed to be the consistency of eggnog?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this to go with a pear cake I made. I subsituted half the milk for french vanilla cream and added 1/4 cup white sugar, and 3/4 unpacked brown sugar because I was out of white. But it turned out deliciously. and thickened beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Santos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is exactly what custard is suppose to taste like. I held back a star because I prefer it a bit thicker. If you used only egg yolks it would be, but then you'd have the hassle of extra whites hanging around. So I think that this recipe would be improved with the addition of corn flour. I used this as a base for ice milk and it works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Perfect if you cut the recipie in half (3eggs) add vanilla and cinamon and 1 (dry) cup cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jollimore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Pretty good- I took another reviewer's suggestion and added some flour for a thicker texture. It took about 30 minutes to cook. I also added about 1 tsp of almond extract before cooking and then served with kiwi, bananas, and oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Wonderful and easily customized. Hit the spot. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Super simple and delicious added vanilla and put on direct heat since the double boiler wasn't working for me and that did the trick just stirred continuously until it was the right consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Classic custard cream recipe. If you want it thicker the trick is to use 3 tablespoons of flour or starch per liter of milk. Stir that into the egg/sugar mixture well so no clumps are left. Also, instead of whole eggs use egg yokes, make the custard as usual, then wait to cool to room temp and add the cooled cream slowly, while beating, to hard beaten egg whites (so they look like whipped cream). Beating the egg whites separately will give the cream more texture and thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofiesmagick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Perfect boiled custard! FYI, this is SUPPOSED TO BE thinner than pudding (hence custard and NOT pudding) as you can either eat it plain or my favorite way: pour it over cake, ice cream, fruit, pie, etc...just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQsBread

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this recipe for 7 (because that came out to 3 eggs). I used 2/3 cup of turbinado (raw) sugar instead of the 1C and 3 TBS white sugar it called for and I would still cut that in half. Of the 4 & 2/3C milk, I used 2C Rice milk, 1 can evaporated, and the rest heavy/whipping cream. I also added a splash each of vanilla and almond extracts. I'm pretty sure I cooked it too long because it started to get little bits in it. It stayed thinner than spoonable, though the recipe does not specify if this is like the drink called boiled custard you find in The South around the holidays or the kind you eat with a spoon. All in all I think it was pretty darn good considering all the changes I made and the over cooking. Great taste, and it freezes VERY nicely!!! Like really good ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States