Boiled Custard II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Okay everyone who does not know what BOILED CUSTARD IS: If you know what egg nog is, boiled custard is that without the extra flavoring like rum, etc. Of course its not a custard pie, custard is a form of "pudding". Also, by "eggy", if you have chunks of egg, you are cooking too hot, and not stirring constantly, and not doing a sufficient job with the strainer. I have noticed that it is good to strain it twice. If you strain it when putting it in to its cooling pitcher, etc. thats gets the base of it out. Then if you strain it again when it has been cooled, that takes the clumps that have joined then. Then put it into the refrigerator and have happy holidays. If you are fed up with making this stuff, just go buy it. Now I'll tell you, not very many people carry Boiled Custard, but the brands I have seen are Sealtest, Southern Bell, and Deans. Request it if you local grocer doesn't carry it. -Talbott, KY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Use egg yoke only. 6 Per Qt. of Milk. you want have to strain. while custard cooling; Beat egg whites, add some sugar to whites. Fold and blend into custard. You can use whip cream instead of egg whites if you like. This is an old Tennessee recipe that's 200 plus years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is my aboslute favorite at Christmas. But I do it the way my great-grandmother did it. I just use the yolks when it's cooking and then when it's finished I whip the whites with some sugar, and then fold the whites into the custard while it's cooling. Then you don't have to strain it and you get good little chunks of meringue-like pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was so good! Rich and creamy! But if you're looking for that store-bought taste, this is not the recipe. I think it would be even better with a little extra vanilla. Maybe using the beaters on it after you strain it would also make it smoother. Will definitely make again and try these new ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I made this custard for my husband who recalled fond memories of his grans custard pie....boy were we shocked...it was extremely eggy(sp?)and not suitable for a dessert at all! So..."if at first you don't succeed...move on to the next recipe!!!" Iapeel in AR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I just want to say how tickled pink I am with this boiled custard recipe! I live in Turkey, and wanted the delicious flavor of the custard my southern grandmother and mother used to make. Let me tell you, this hit the spot! I am also delighted with the ease it can be made; no slaving over the stove like my mom did. Even my Turkish babysitter is hooked on boiled custard now! I now have a little bit of southern Christmas so far away; thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
Tastes great and texture is good. Makes a great custard base for homemade icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
While this tasted good, it never coated the back of a spoon matter how long I cooked it. I ended having to add corn starch to get it to at least coat the back of a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This a hard recipe to find... Thanks to Brenda for posting it... I know it will be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony the Tiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrodsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was an awesomely easy recipe that everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sukeyblueskin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Paris, Tennessee, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States