Boiled Custard I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I tried this recipe in a double boiler and it didn't turn out at all! I boiled the mixture for thirty minutes and it wouldn't thicken. I had to finish it in the microwave. However, I liked the flavor and texture, so I didn't give up. I boiled it on medium heat in a regular pot and it turned out perfect! I even made a bit of caramel with butter, brown sugar and baking soda to add some oomph. Perfect tv night dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I love this recipe! It is easy to make and it's flavor blends well with the foods that you add it too. We love vanilla, so we added a little extra to enhance the flavor. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was ok. I wasn't a huge fan. I had issues with the texture and the smoothness, maybe from the cornstarch. The flavor was good but I doubled the vanilla. I'm going to keep looking for a perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Was simple and easy. I used a double broiler and i had to turn heat up to get it to speed up cooking process. I had to babysit it to prevent lumps. It did have a cornstarch tasted i increased the vanilla. I also took 1 reviewers advice and combined dry ingredients and then added milk and eggs that had been mixded togetther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I'm not a big fan of custard but this one is very nice. It has great flavour, not too "eggy". Smooth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
came out wonderful. i used your boiled custard in my bannana honey gram parfait and it worked beautifully. CUDOS ! Thanks for the beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna silence
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
If you know what you're doing, you won't have any problem with the eggs. I have made this on several occasions with no problems. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is just perfect! I tried it in a double boiler and it just seemed to take forever. Then, I tried it on medium heat, stirring almost continuously, and it worked fine. Then, I added cooked rice at the end for a rice pudding/custard. I shared this with two Mongolian friends who had never had pudding and they loved it...had seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I searched books and the internet but could not find a custard that would meet my families dietary needs. (Sugar free, low fat and low cholesterol). I decided to adjust this recipe and see what happened. I used Splenda, 1% milk and Egg Creations liquid egg product and crossed my fingers. The result was AMAZING! It set wonderfully, was creamy and tasted sweet and rich with vanilla. My suggestion is to never rush a custard and cover the cooling custard with a film of plastic wrap so that it lays directly on top of the custard. This prevents a 'crusty film' from forming. Thank you so much for your contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly & it was delicious! We were looking for a natural alternative to the "custard in a jug" located on the milk isle. It was even better chilled with a little freshly grated nutmeg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States