Boiled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I've made this recipe for many years. Over 40! There are some hints, however: Use a whole chicken. Cheaper, and more flavor. Don't use boneless, skinless breasts. The meat will be dryer and the broth not as flavorful. After cooking let chicken sit in broth until cool. The meat will not be tough. No need to debone chicken first if you have a big enough soup pot. Another hint: When cooked through, remove large pieces, then pour broth and remaining pieces through a sieve into another container. The little pieces of meat and bones and skin will be left behind. It will be easy then to pick through and get the meat. (Let cool awhile or you could get burned.) Another hint: The broth doesn't have to be used that day. Freeze some in containers, but take an ice tray and put some of the broth in that. This makes bouillon cubes. No more needing to buy artificially flavored, over salted, and MSG filled cubes from the store. Delicious. Update: Forgot to mention. My recipe calls for some herbs. Poultry seasoning, or sage and thyme. Maybe some rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cayla
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Great recipe. I used a 5-pound chicken so I cooked it a bit longer, but it was very moist and perfectly done. I also made stock like other reviewers suggested which I am going to use for risotto. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cayla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This made very nice broth and the chicken was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Great recipe for all those chicken uses. Great flavor and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I didn't actually make this recipe but I boil chicken to debone it constantly. I am responding because of the number of people who stated they are using boneless,skinless chicken breasts for this!?!? Why? The whole point of boiling chicken is to leach flavor from the bones and skin (where the flavor is) into the water for stock and so you can easily remove the meat from the bones and skin afterward. This allows you to use a more economical cut of meat(i.e. bone in skin on chicken breasts,etc.) for your meals that call for shredded chicken (casseroles, chicken salad, etc.) and to save the more expensive cuts for your meals that call for a cutlet (cordon bleu, chicken parmesean, grilled chicken etc.) I would imagine boiled bonesless skinless breasts would result in a very bland stock that would require several buillon cubes to add more flavor as well as very bland chicken meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
very simple. i use the slow cooker when makeing broths or stocks. i also hate wasteing the vegetables so i do something a friend taught me. i save the ends and parts of the veggies i normaly wouldnt in most recipes, and freeze them. then when i have a decent amount of vegetables saved i make this recipe or broth. works very well and i dont feel quilty discarding them when im done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistycolleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I never knew how to boil a chicken! Now I do and I save the broth for other recipes. Oh so good. I made a few changes, some because I didn't have ingredients on hand. I used celery flakes instead of fresh and regular pepper instead of peppercorns. I did add a clove of garlic and some parsely for added flavor. Very good - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Awesome!! I used this recipe for chicken and stock for a chicken noodle soup recipe from this site and it turned out great. I added 2 garlic cloves, crushed but whole so they would be easy to take out, and a bay leaf. I allowed the chicken to cool while sitting in the pot and it turned out tender and full of flavor and the stock was a great start to my soup!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I was sort of skeptical too, but this definitely is the best recipe for the economical cook like me! I boiled chicken breasts to shred and also got a great pot of broth out of it too! Thanks for the tip about cooling the chicken in the broth...my chicken came out tasty and not the least bit dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Perth Amboy, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Thank you for giving me an idea of how long to cook chicken. Some people may never have to look this information up, and might find it strange, but I really don't know how to cook chicken or fish. My mother rarely cooked meat when I was a child, and somehow beef is easier. Enough of my life story - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louisiana bourbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States