Boiled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is fantastic, and very simple. I use this for a soup, and the larger pieces of meat I use in a casserole the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kannp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This was my first time boiling chicken and it came out sooo tender and delicious. I bought a 2 pound WHOLE chicken and all I added in the water were carrots, flattened garlic cloves, pepper, an salt. The rest of the flavors came from the chicken. I simmered the chicken just before boiling (following a reviewer's suggestion) and the meat really did fall off the bone. YUM! Also, since I used a 2 pound chicken it only took me about an hour. I agree with the reviewers that said to keep the skin for the extra flavor, and then skim off the fat later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I've made this time and time again as a base for my homemade chicken noodle soup and it's perfect! One reminder though, never bring the water to a boil because it makes the chicken tough. It's important to catch it right before a boil and let it simmer from there. Follow that rule and you'll have the best most tender chicken around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I personally don't like to make alterations to other people's recipes... especially ones that are rated with 5 stars, but I did add a few extra ingredients. Sorry--often annoyed by other reviewers for making so many alterations that it is no longer YOUR recipe. However, your recipe is perfect. I just added some garlic and parsley to suit my tastes. Even without that, it would have been absolutely wonderful. Thank you so much. I searched for this recipe simply because I wasn't sure about the cooking time. Your instructions are immaculate as far as I am concerned. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Skim the top a few times while it's cooking and you have broth for soups - way better than canned and way less wasteful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is a very good basic recipe. For those who say that it bland should realize that it is for the basic diced cooked chicken. You spice and season it as you make your final recipe. When I get a great sale on whole chickens, I get out the giant stock pot and fill it and cover with water and start heating it. I like to be able to go out to the garden and snip some fresh herbs. Whatever is growing and looks good. I like my final recipes with dark meat. Some (my SO) do not, so I bag up some different mixes and freeze them. The boil the bones some more and filter the liquid through a fine mesh filter. This liquid freezes into the best broth you can get. I really like to be able to put a bunch of these into the freezer before winter comes. It gives me the cooked chicken for taco, burritos, pot pies, chicken soup, chick and dumplings, etc. at a drop of a hat for a hearty winter supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
So easy and yummy!! I used this recipe as a base for soup. I used a whole chicken and didn't cut it up (as some other reveiws had suggested) and had no problems, chicken was done in 90 minutes exactly. I did use some salt though, only a pinch. When the chicken was done I removed it from the pot and strained the broth. Way better than broth from a carton or a boullion cube, and although it takes some time its really easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I've made this recipe for many years. Over 40! There are some hints, however: Use a whole chicken. Cheaper, and more flavor. Don't use boneless, skinless breasts. The meat will be dryer and the broth not as flavorful. After cooking let chicken sit in broth until cool. The meat will not be tough. No need to debone chicken first if you have a big enough soup pot. Another hint: When cooked through, remove large pieces, then pour broth and remaining pieces through a sieve into another container. The little pieces of meat and bones and skin will be left behind. It will be easy then to pick through and get the meat. (Let cool awhile or you could get burned.) Another hint: The broth doesn't have to be used that day. Freeze some in containers, but take an ice tray and put some of the broth in that. This makes bouillon cubes. No more needing to buy artificially flavored, over salted, and MSG filled cubes from the store. Delicious. Update: Forgot to mention. My recipe calls for some herbs. Poultry seasoning, or sage and thyme. Maybe some rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cayla
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Great recipe. I used a 5-pound chicken so I cooked it a bit longer, but it was very moist and perfectly done. I also made stock like other reviewers suggested which I am going to use for risotto. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cayla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States