Boiled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
Thank you so much! I had NO IDEA how to boil a whole chicken. This was a great way and my husband loved the shredded chicken tacos we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I make a lot of boiled chicken, and I would like to add some advice. Be sure to cut the chicken into parts, remove any giblets, and rinse the chicken before boiling it. I prefer to add some salt to the pot, which this recipe doesn't do. The amount is up to you (start with 2 teaspoons if you're not sure). You can remove the chicken from the pot as soon as it's done, if you prefer, rather than waiting for it to be "falling off the bone." The white meat will be done before the dark meat. If you leave the spine in the pot after removing the other parts and let it stew for a while, then strain the solids out with a sieve, you have some nice chicken broth to use for soups. Let it cool, and remove the fat that rises to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1685 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
The simplest preparation ever. Wonderful for Chicken Salad or Chicken Enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
THANKS! Sometimes simple recipes like this can be a pain to find any where! I have a recipe that calls for boiled chicken - and I had NO IDEA how to do this as I'm a beginning cook and I know poultry has to be cookedhandled just right. Also thanks, AQRoland for your added extra tips...again, the whole giblets part - I wouldn't have even thought about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Thank you for this easy and simple recipe. I made some great chicken salad from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sindie1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
The chicken turned out great, and I froze the broth for later use. It tasted much better than store bought broth. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
I threw a chicken bouillon cube into the water to preserve the flavor and a jalapeno for kick. Great by itself, with rice or tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
chicken is delicious, moist, tender, and delicately fragrant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
This is the only way I will boil chicken from now on!! It's wonderful. I made chicken enchiladas with the chicken and strained and froze the juice. The recipe is perfect except that I added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This was perfect for chicken salad...the meat really did fall off the bones! It was so easy to make, and tasted great. I too saved the chicken broth to make chicken noodle soup for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States