Boiled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I make a lot of boiled chicken, and I would like to add some advice. Be sure to cut the chicken into parts, remove any giblets, and rinse the chicken before boiling it. I prefer to add some salt to the pot, which this recipe doesn't do. The amount is up to you (start with 2 teaspoons if you're not sure). You can remove the chicken from the pot as soon as it's done, if you prefer, rather than waiting for it to be "falling off the bone." The white meat will be done before the dark meat. If you leave the spine in the pot after removing the other parts and let it stew for a while, then strain the solids out with a sieve, you have some nice chicken broth to use for soups. Let it cool, and remove the fat that rises to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1674 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Here is a hint to ensure that your chicken is always juicy, never dry - cool it completely in the broth before shredding or cubing! Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This is SO easy and tastes SO good! I put my chicken (usually boneless breasts) in the crock pot, cover it with water and add the salt, pepper, onions, carrots, celery (and garlic too) in chunks. Someone else had posted that it is then easier to pull out of the broth when you're done. Unbelievable flavor for both the broth and chicken. And in the crock pot it is absolutely effortless!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
491 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This is the way my mom made it too... I add garlic and seasoned salt, and remove the skin off before simmering to reduce fat. Less to skim off after. I'll buy one of those 10 lb bags of legs n thighs when they're on sale and do the whole 10 lbs. After deboning, freeze meat in broth to help prevent freezer burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
When the chicken is done, take the meat off the bones and continue simmering the bones and veggies for a couple more hours to make a rich, flavorful broth. Season to taste with salt. Strain and discard the bones and vegetables, as the flavor is pretty much cooked out of the veggies by this time. Chill (or freeze) the broth to use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
I make this at least every couple of weeks. I freeze small portions in ziploc baggies & then use in my dogs' dinner (my vet advocates boiled chicken for my dogs)or in many other recipes calling for chicken. I do leave the veggies in big chunks for ease of removal. To clarify stock for clear broth, removing solid flecks that are too small to be strained out with cheesecloth, follow this method. Separate the egg white from the egg yolk of one egg and reserve the shell. In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup cold water, egg white, and crushed eggshell. Add to strained stock, and bring to a boil. Remove from heat, and let stand 5 minutes. Strain again through a sieve lined with cheesecloth. From cloudy to crystal clear in no time! (I got this method from another recipe on this site...Basic Chicken stock)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This recipe is great! I didn't have celery on hand so I threw in a couple garlic cloves and some seasoning salt and simmered it until the meat was falling off the bones. I did what one reviewer suggested and cooled the chicken in the broth to make the chicken as moist as possible. As I was shredding the chicken for the enchiladas I'm making tonight, I couldn't help taking a quick bite and it was awesome! Thanks so much for this great, cheap, building block recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Great recipe! I used 1 bag of frozen chicken breasts and added 2 cloves of garlic. I then reserved the broth, divided the chicken into 1 cup potions and stuck them in the freezer for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Best recipe for boiled chicken I have ever used - and the broth is great for making soups, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I didn't actually make this recipe but I boil chicken to debone it constantly. I am responding because of the number of people who stated they are using boneless,skinless chicken breasts for this!?!? Why? The whole point of boiling chicken is to leach flavor from the bones and skin (where the flavor is) into the water for stock and so you can easily remove the meat from the bones and skin afterward. This allows you to use a more economical cut of meat(i.e. bone in skin on chicken breasts,etc.) for your meals that call for shredded chicken (casseroles, chicken salad, etc.) and to save the more expensive cuts for your meals that call for a cutlet (cordon bleu, chicken parmesean, grilled chicken etc.) I would imagine boiled bonesless skinless breasts would result in a very bland stock that would require several buillon cubes to add more flavor as well as very bland chicken meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States