Boiled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was amazingly good for something so simple. The best advice from another reviewer was to let the chicken cool in the broth before removing - it was extra moist and flavorful. I'll be on a boiled chicken binge for a while! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This is a great recipe. You can't go wrong! The chicken came out great. I used this recipe to boil chicken for a chicken salad. It tasted so rich! The leftover broth was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
You can't go wrong with this recipe. This is the first recipe I used from this site, and it is so versatile! I usually make it for enchiladas, but it also makes amazing soup, or chicken for any other recipe! It is funny that you'd need a recipe for something that seems as basic as boiled chicken, but three years ago I had no idea how to make shredded chicken. Now I make it all the time!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I have used this recipe or a variation based on what I have on hand many, many times now. It works excellently! If you allow your chicken (or chicken bones) to cook with the vegetables/spices you like for an hour or so before straining, you get a nice chicken stock. You'll know if you got chicken stock or if you have chicken water based on how it smells. The water should still smell like chicken noodle soup AFTER you remove all the "stuff" from it and it should not be colorless! Now you can make a soup from the stock or you can freeze the stock in ice cube trays (then repackage into baggies) and use it in recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
for an easy strain place bay leaves pepercorns and parsley in a piece of tied cheesecloth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by masterchefed

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I use this recipe for almost EVERY recipe that calls for chicken! This chicken is tender, juicy, and has the most amazingly warm and comforting flavor. It is so simple with only a handful of ingredients thrown into a pot then letting it cook itself for a few hours (I usually let it cook until it falls off the bone). I throw out everything but the shredded chicken and the broth (you can also freeze the chicken so it can be used months down the road but I HIGHLY recommend freezing it in a bag with the broth to avoid freezer burn). Thanks SO much for this recipe -- I have already given it to several of my friends and family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Good recipe/technique. Only gave it 4 stars because I let the chicken cool in the stock before removing and shredding. Chicken remains moist and stock more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
When making chicken I normally just put them in a pot, fill water to cover add a little salt and pepper. Did it this way and chicken was much more flavorful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Sometimes when you get to a certain age in life, your taste buds falter. (Like mine)... So I use 5 quarts of water to 3 lbs. chicken and 3 chicken bouillon cubes from Wylers. It always makes the chicken broth awesome if make dumplings to this. I use to dice all my onions and that's why I hated boiling chicken, but I just threw some on the stove and hope it does the same thing. Half it uh? :) Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meganolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States