Boiled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Skim the top a few times while it's cooking and you have broth for soups - way better than canned and way less wasteful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is a very good basic recipe. For those who say that it bland should realize that it is for the basic diced cooked chicken. You spice and season it as you make your final recipe. When I get a great sale on whole chickens, I get out the giant stock pot and fill it and cover with water and start heating it. I like to be able to go out to the garden and snip some fresh herbs. Whatever is growing and looks good. I like my final recipes with dark meat. Some (my SO) do not, so I bag up some different mixes and freeze them. The boil the bones some more and filter the liquid through a fine mesh filter. This liquid freezes into the best broth you can get. I really like to be able to put a bunch of these into the freezer before winter comes. It gives me the cooked chicken for taco, burritos, pot pies, chicken soup, chick and dumplings, etc. at a drop of a hat for a hearty winter supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
So easy and yummy!! I used this recipe as a base for soup. I used a whole chicken and didn't cut it up (as some other reveiws had suggested) and had no problems, chicken was done in 90 minutes exactly. I did use some salt though, only a pinch. When the chicken was done I removed it from the pot and strained the broth. Way better than broth from a carton or a boullion cube, and although it takes some time its really easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Dineen Clouston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I've made this recipe for many years. Over 40! There are some hints, however: Use a whole chicken. Cheaper, and more flavor. Don't use boneless, skinless breasts. The meat will be dryer and the broth not as flavorful. After cooking let chicken sit in broth until cool. The meat will not be tough. No need to debone chicken first if you have a big enough soup pot. Another hint: When cooked through, remove large pieces, then pour broth and remaining pieces through a sieve into another container. The little pieces of meat and bones and skin will be left behind. It will be easy then to pick through and get the meat. (Let cool awhile or you could get burned.) Another hint: The broth doesn't have to be used that day. Freeze some in containers, but take an ice tray and put some of the broth in that. This makes bouillon cubes. No more needing to buy artificially flavored, over salted, and MSG filled cubes from the store. Delicious. Update: Forgot to mention. My recipe calls for some herbs. Poultry seasoning, or sage and thyme. Maybe some rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cayla
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Great recipe. I used a 5-pound chicken so I cooked it a bit longer, but it was very moist and perfectly done. I also made stock like other reviewers suggested which I am going to use for risotto. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cayla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This made very nice broth and the chicken was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Great recipe for all those chicken uses. Great flavor and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I didn't actually make this recipe but I boil chicken to debone it constantly. I am responding because of the number of people who stated they are using boneless,skinless chicken breasts for this!?!? Why? The whole point of boiling chicken is to leach flavor from the bones and skin (where the flavor is) into the water for stock and so you can easily remove the meat from the bones and skin afterward. This allows you to use a more economical cut of meat(i.e. bone in skin on chicken breasts,etc.) for your meals that call for shredded chicken (casseroles, chicken salad, etc.) and to save the more expensive cuts for your meals that call for a cutlet (cordon bleu, chicken parmesean, grilled chicken etc.) I would imagine boiled bonesless skinless breasts would result in a very bland stock that would require several buillon cubes to add more flavor as well as very bland chicken meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
very simple. i use the slow cooker when makeing broths or stocks. i also hate wasteing the vegetables so i do something a friend taught me. i save the ends and parts of the veggies i normaly wouldnt in most recipes, and freeze them. then when i have a decent amount of vegetables saved i make this recipe or broth. works very well and i dont feel quilty discarding them when im done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistycolleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I never knew how to boil a chicken! Now I do and I save the broth for other recipes. Oh so good. I made a few changes, some because I didn't have ingredients on hand. I used celery flakes instead of fresh and regular pepper instead of peppercorns. I did add a clove of garlic and some parsely for added flavor. Very good - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States