Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These are incredible! Before baking, I brush them with an egg wash and leave them plan or top with sea salt, asiago cheese or cheddar cheese and garlic. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These are great! I used whole wheat flour and added a bit of lemon juice to help the wheat flour rise. I let them rise for around 30 minutes and rolled the pieces out into snakes then wrapped the rolled piece around my hand to make a circle as this was less time cosuming for me. Yay! I have now made bagels. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was my first time making bagels, and they turned out pretty well. I think they taste a bit salty, so I might cut back a bit next time. I used whole wheat flour instead of the all-purpose flour, and the taste and texture were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I'm a native New Yorker living in Oregon. I can't find a good bagel. This was the very first time I've ever attempted making bagels. Amazing and so easy! These bagels are going to be a staple in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
If you have a little bit of time these are wonderful! We are getting ready to try a batch with wheat flour & raisins and some with cinnamon & sugar.......so many possibilities! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent! Delicious with a nice crust! I opted for broiling then boiling, and they turned out beautifully! They take a little time, but you may never buy grocery store bagels again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Really good bagels! Better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great recipe!! Finally they came out well. On my second attempt they where fine. As other reviews suggested I did; 1. First rise for 30 minutes in a warm place (inside my oven with light on. 2) rise for 35 min. 3) Broiled them for 1 min each side before putting them in water. Next time I will try to brush them with egg + watter and some seeds. As we live in Barcelona (Spain) I do not have to go out any more to look for bagels in town
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made these yesterday and ate one today,and they were waaaaaayyyy too salty. It was like swallowing ocean water! They also didn't rise and only got slightly bigger when I boiled them, but they still turned out really puny. I think I'll try a different bagel recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krabtart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I love this recipe! Today I made my 7th batch and I must say they came out absolutely beautiful! The only change I made was to the boil time. When I boiled my first couple of batches for 7 min they had gooey spots that would not bake out. All other batches I only boiled for about a min. on each side and that has corrected the problem. I have moved on to using whole wheat flour and I am now ready to add flavorings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States