Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great recipe! My hubby just got back from NY c-raving for the bagels he had every single morning for three weeks he spent there - and asked for more! Couldn't find my old recipe, used this one and produced 8 oversized, chewy on the inside, golden crispy on the outside REAL bagels! Used sesame on 3, poppy seeds on 3 and 2 plain with coarse salt on top. - We live in Europe now, so the metric eq. for yeast to flour was: for 500 grs flour (4.5 cups) used one sachet (27 gr) dried yeast. Worked out great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
AMAZING!!!! Who knew you could boil bagels? Tastes great toasted, buttered, and then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. You could also make whole wheat boiled bagels if you substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Merrick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. My first time making them they turned out awesome! sometimes i had cinnamon and raisins . Other times i sprinkle cheese on top :) so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janice
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I've made these twice now, and they're fantastic. The first time I followed the general recipe, and the second I broiled them first. I'd definitely recommend the broil-before just for aesthetic reasons. I ran fresh basil and tomatoes through the food processer and added them when I kneaded in the rest of the flour, and they are literally one of the best things I have ever eaten. I also did an egg wash on my second batch (again, aesthetics) and they came out beautiful and professional looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
awesome recipe! It was fun and easy. I topped mine with garlic and onions right after they came out of the water the first time I made them and today I am using sesame seeds! I have already passed this recipe on to my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
i just made these, i used gluten free flour (an all purpose blend i buy in bulk), they turned out great!! in fact since i've never made them with wheat flour i'll never know the difference :) A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Wonderful recipe, I got up early to make these for my dad and sister, I actually made them into breakfast sandwiches with egg and cheese and we all loved them. Suggestion: sprinkle some shredded hard cheese (I used a Kraft blend of asiago/romano) before popping in the oven, very yummy. Definitely be sure to spray the baking pan enough, they can be tricky to remove cleanly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I never knew making bagels could be so much fun and so easy! They've always been a store-bought mystery. They're a little time consuming but worth it. My mom taught me to let the yeast sit with the warm water and sugar for a few minutes, then mix in the dry and remaining ingredients. That's the only real deviation I made from the original recipe. Also, I let the dough rise 10-15 minutes longer both times. The outcome was fabulous! I tried someone else's honey-oat suggestion, and also used a garlic bread spice mixture to coat some others. Delish! I coated them after boiling and before baking. Wonderful recipe! I'm delighted I don't need to buy bagels anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Followed recipe, but they needed 39 minutes. (Oven thermometer confirmed the temp.) Even so, they were gummy inside and needed toasing. Won't throw them out, but we were sadly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Very easy to make. I made half the regular way and half using the broiling method. They turned out perfect. I’m anxious to make another batch and experiment with different toppings and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States