Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
flat, 7 minutes seems too long to boil I think it absorbed water and ruined them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sactown_Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Great recipe! I used someone else's suggestion of putting molasses in the water instead of sugar, and the outsides came out crisp and brown. The insides are chewy and tasty. I used a heavy duty baking stone when baking mine. It took around 30-35 minutes just like the recipe said. I also separated the dough into 8 even pieces instead of 12 and the bagels came out the size you would find at a store. Keep in mind that the bagels are going to pretty much double in size both in height and diameter when put into the simmering water so don't worry if they look a little on the small side after proofing. I just may never buy bagels again! I like to get a nice piece of asiago, shred it, and put it on as a topping, The raw ingredients are so much cheaper then paying for bagels. It just takes a little bit of time, but is a very simple recipe to follow. Having made this recipe at least 10 times now, I must add that you will likely need to add more flour when kneading the dough. I usually knead mine in a Kitchenaide mixer and slowly sprinkle in flour till the dough comes together and is firmer because it will be wet and sticky at first which is not what you want...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sactown_Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I am not happy with the way these bagels turned out. I read all of the five-star reviews before I started and followed the directions to a T, with the exception of making 9 bagels instead of 12. The bagels looked beautiful going into the water bath and beautiful coming out. It was about 30 minutes into baking that I realized these weren't going to be the "perfect bagels" I had envisioned. The bottoms were gooey even after 45 minutes in the oven. I flipped them over and baked for another 15 minutes before pulling them out of oven, not wanting to burn them. Though this was my first attempt at homemade bagels, I consider myself an accomplished baker and have never had problems with homemade breads, rolls, pretzels (also boiled), etc. I believe the error in this recipe is in the boiling time. Most other recipes state to boil bagels under 2 minutes total, not seven. I will attempt these bagels one more time, but will decrease the boil time significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
My first attempt at these was great as written. The second time I made them pumpkin spice w/ dried cranberries. I substituted warmed orange juice and 1/2 c. pumpkin puree for the water and used light brown sugar instead of white. The baking time was right on the money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Super delicious! I tried both boiling first and broiling first. Both were good, but different. The broiled variety looked more smooth and uniform, but seem more like regular bread than a bagel. The boiled ones got deliciously crisp on the outside and were chewy in the middle, but didn't look as nice. I'll definitely make again, but stick with the boiling first method. PS I gently kneeded cheddar cheese into mine, and sprinkled with onion flakes and more cheese before browning in the oven. Oh my gosh good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very authentic texture and taste, makes a smaller size bagel than you're typical baagel shop but I like the smaller portion better anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parshall, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great recipe! My hubby just got back from NY c-raving for the bagels he had every single morning for three weeks he spent there - and asked for more! Couldn't find my old recipe, used this one and produced 8 oversized, chewy on the inside, golden crispy on the outside REAL bagels! Used sesame on 3, poppy seeds on 3 and 2 plain with coarse salt on top. - We live in Europe now, so the metric eq. for yeast to flour was: for 500 grs flour (4.5 cups) used one sachet (27 gr) dried yeast. Worked out great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
AMAZING!!!! Who knew you could boil bagels? Tastes great toasted, buttered, and then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar. You could also make whole wheat boiled bagels if you substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Merrick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. My first time making them they turned out awesome! sometimes i had cinnamon and raisins . Other times i sprinkle cheese on top :) so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janice
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I've made these twice now, and they're fantastic. The first time I followed the general recipe, and the second I broiled them first. I'd definitely recommend the broil-before just for aesthetic reasons. I ran fresh basil and tomatoes through the food processer and added them when I kneaded in the rest of the flour, and they are literally one of the best things I have ever eaten. I also did an egg wash on my second batch (again, aesthetics) and they came out beautiful and professional looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States