Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
YUM! very tasty and easy to follow. after reading reviews about the size, i decided to cut back on the amount of bagels to 8, but they were a little big for us, so next time i will try the 12 if not 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy de Jesus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great recipe! I worked at a bagel shop while in college and we did the traditional boiled bagel and this come pretty close. Some notes: Proofing the bagels - After I shaped the bagels (forming the dough into a small ball and poking a hole in the middle is genius!), I put them on a cookie sheet, let them rise a bit (about 15mins or so) and placed them in the refrigerator for about 45mins. This allows them to proof the rest of the way and helps them retain their shape once you put the bagel into the boiling water. Boiling the bagels - Depending on how you like the texture will determine how long you let the bagel boil. For mine, I only let the bagel boil for about 30-45 seconds which will give it a thin crispy crust and a softer texture inside. I've never heard of letting a bagel boil in water for 7mins., from my experience (baking bagels at 3am - sometimes hungover and having this happen), boiling bagels too long causes them to become water-logged and hard to handle (but if you had success, then I've learned something new!). Also, it's important to keep the water at a very high boil. I dropped one bagel in at a time so the temp wouldn't drop. Seriously, not sure if I'm going to pay $10+ for a dozen bagels around here anymore especially since this recipe was so good! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent recipe. I've been making these once a week for months now. -Broil your bagels before you boil them for a few minutes, or until puffed and slightly golden brown. This ensures they won't deflate and also makes baking quicker. -I make 8 instead of 12. Larger bagels won't deflate/flatten as easily as small ones. -Brush egg white on the top after you're done boiling them, then sprinkle on poppy seeds. Poppy seed/raisin bagels are especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Very good bagels, not bakery quality but very tasty for homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Easy to follow recipe and a great starting base. I ended up using about 2.5 cups flour in the dough after mixing the wetter dough. I would probably up the salt or add other flavors in the future. I brushed mine with egg and added sesame seeds before tossing them in the oven, but I think they would have been a bit bland if I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great taste and texture. I didn't broil them, just boiled and baked. And like others recommended, I let them rise for 1 hour. Yummy! I don't think I'll be buying store-bought bagels anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great recipe! Takes a couple tries to get the hang of it, especially getting the yeast right (eventually I just mixed it in with the water/sugar/salt before I added it to the flour and got way better results).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachas6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dustbunny
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I took the suggestion and added about a tablespoon of Molasses to the boiling water along with the sugar. Once the bagels were boiled I dipped the tops in an everything mixture (sesame seeds, poppy seeds, caraway seeds, freeze dried garlic, onion flakes and sea salt - just a tablespoon of each) This recipe made 13 bagels for me - average size. All I can say is that I loved this recipe and will make it over and over again - probably tweaking ingredients to get different flavors of bagels. I am very eager to try banana nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustbunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were relativity easy to make although they did take a long time. I found that they were a little too tough and chewy. Also the sugar salt perportions were a little off and it made them taste a little funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These came out delicious though the shapes were a bit funny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States