Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
From my experience, the pan should be greased and floured, otherwise the bagels will stick and become deformed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
For my first time making bagels, this was a great recipe to start with. Very simple to follow. I modified the recipe slightly by adding sun dried tomatoes to the dough. Very tasty and I will be using this recipe again! :) Delicious! Especially with home made sun dried tomato butter.... mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monacarm
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This recipe tastes amazing! A problem was getting them off of the baking sheet, but I can probably fix that. Another problem was that after boiling, they seemed to deflate and lost all of the poof. Maybe I'll try adding baking powder/baking soda next time. I also only needed 2 1/2 cups flour. All in all, a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I used the recipe for cooking time. The dough was leftover from a batch of whole wheat baked donuts. I just added more flour. BUT... Thanks so much for telling me to boil these for 7 minutes. They became huge and look really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MenuVariety

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
The bagels tasted fine but there is another homemade bagel recipe that is so much easier and quicker to prepare. I prefer the ingredients in this recipe as it doesn't require milk or butter but the preparation in the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I've tried this recipe twice and both times I had very flat bagels. The first time I mixed the yeast in the sugar water before adding it to the dry. The bagels were flat by the time they hit the water. The second I followed the recipe exactly and the bagels flattened after they came out of the water. They tasted okay, just super flat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These are simple and delicious! I had left over whey from making cream cheese, so I subbed it in for water in this recipe. I also proofed my yeast by mixing it with a tablespoon of sugar and the whey for 5 minutes before I added everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I don't have anything to compare it to but being my first time making bagels, they came out awesome! The only thing I have to say is I used nearly 1 and a half cups less flour than the recipe called for and I also had substituted 1 cup of whole-wheat flour for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was my first time making bagels and they were delicious. Let them rise about 30-40 min. They only took 15 min. in my oven. I would advise reading the article on "Forming and Baking Bagels" first. My water stopped boiling when I put bagels in and the article will give a better perspective if you have never made bagels before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good...although a little bland. I replaced half of the flour with white whole wheat....I made 12 bagels - 6 plain & 6 that I kneaded in cinnamon & raisins. Broiled and boiled in Molasses. Then topped cinnamon raisin ones with a cinnamon crunch topping (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, & 1 Tbsp melted butter). To try: use honey instead of sugar & add extra honey. Try topping some with asiago cheese for bagel sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States