Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
From my experience, the pan should be greased and floured, otherwise the bagels will stick and become deformed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
For my first time making bagels, this was a great recipe to start with. Very simple to follow. I modified the recipe slightly by adding sun dried tomatoes to the dough. Very tasty and I will be using this recipe again! :) Delicious! Especially with home made sun dried tomato butter.... mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monacarm
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This recipe tastes amazing! A problem was getting them off of the baking sheet, but I can probably fix that. Another problem was that after boiling, they seemed to deflate and lost all of the poof. Maybe I'll try adding baking powder/baking soda next time. I also only needed 2 1/2 cups flour. All in all, a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I used the recipe for cooking time. The dough was leftover from a batch of whole wheat baked donuts. I just added more flour. BUT... Thanks so much for telling me to boil these for 7 minutes. They became huge and look really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MenuVariety

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
The bagels tasted fine but there is another homemade bagel recipe that is so much easier and quicker to prepare. I prefer the ingredients in this recipe as it doesn't require milk or butter but the preparation in the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I've tried this recipe twice and both times I had very flat bagels. The first time I mixed the yeast in the sugar water before adding it to the dry. The bagels were flat by the time they hit the water. The second I followed the recipe exactly and the bagels flattened after they came out of the water. They tasted okay, just super flat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These are simple and delicious! I had left over whey from making cream cheese, so I subbed it in for water in this recipe. I also proofed my yeast by mixing it with a tablespoon of sugar and the whey for 5 minutes before I added everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I don't have anything to compare it to but being my first time making bagels, they came out awesome! The only thing I have to say is I used nearly 1 and a half cups less flour than the recipe called for and I also had substituted 1 cup of whole-wheat flour for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was my first time making bagels and they were delicious. Let them rise about 30-40 min. They only took 15 min. in my oven. I would advise reading the article on "Forming and Baking Bagels" first. My water stopped boiling when I put bagels in and the article will give a better perspective if you have never made bagels before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good...although a little bland. I replaced half of the flour with white whole wheat....I made 12 bagels - 6 plain & 6 that I kneaded in cinnamon & raisins. Broiled and boiled in Molasses. Then topped cinnamon raisin ones with a cinnamon crunch topping (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, & 1 Tbsp melted butter). To try: use honey instead of sugar & add extra honey. Try topping some with asiago cheese for bagel sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States