Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by gabs1972
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Excellent recipe!! I have never cooker bagels, this was a first timer for me, but as you can see from the picture, they turned out great! My husband loved them too!!! Just a slight change: 1) I didn't broil them 2) I boiled them for 2 minutes per side 3) Need to cook less than 30-35 minutes, as you can see from pic they came a bit too dark Other thank this, WONDERFUL!!! Thanks for this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is my go to bagel recipe, they always turn out wonderful and delicious! I made them again today using half "white whole wheat" flour and they were still great. My tip is to not overcrowd the pot when boiling, if you give them room in there, they turn out bigger and better. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very happy with the results. I used the broiled option and boiled the bagels for only 2 minutes per side. I made 10 larger bagels. I've topped some with sesame seeds and made some cinnamon raisin in addition to the plain. Very good! I anticipate making several other variations in the future. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe 6 times in 2 weeks time, and they have been excellent every time. Here are a few tips I've discovered through testing and experience: I have tried substituting brown sugar for white sugar in this entire recipe, including the boil, and they taste equally good but a little different (my wife thinks they are better). 7 minutes of boiling is pointless, as I've done many experiments with these and found that 1:30 each side is the max needed -- nothing longer than that will make it any chewier. Boil with a ROLLING boil, not a simmer as per the recipe. The temp will drop when you add the dough anyhow, so a rolling boil keeps things boiling when the bagels go in. Bake them at 400F for about 20-25 minutes, turning the cookie sheet around halfway through so it bakes evenly. The chewy texture is best achieved through letting them cool and staying out all day (or overnight) before bagging. They will taste less yeasty and more dense and chewy after sitting out. Also, this recipe will yield very small bagels if you make 12 so I suggest doing 7-8 for a regular-sized bagel. Brush them with egg before baking for a glossy surface and save yourself the whole broiling step. If you prefer not to use vegetable oil you can sprinkle yellow cornmeal on the cookie sheet instead. It won't stick and it adds a little bonus flavor underneath. Lastly, I have gotten excellent results using 1 tsp. less yeast (so a total 3.5tsp). Happy bagel making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I absolutelty loved the result! The bagels came out beautiful on the outside as well as the inside. It was my first time making bagels and I will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Blemur

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
First time making bagels ever BUT with the new year brought us a resolution to reduce our processed food intake but we LOVE bagels. Well! Thank goodness I have a Kitchen Aid because this was some tough dough. I followed the recipe. The first 6 I made were ugly but hole crow they were delicious! Crispy on the outside. Chewey in the middle. Yum. Thr second half of the dough I made smaller and incorporated cinnamon and sugar. Those are still in the oven. I am trying to think of all the ways that I can make bagels. I can't wait to try them on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Thank you!!!!! We're expecting our second baby, and the biggest craving so far came along last night. Our favorite bakery didn't open in time for us to get there, so I made these. I made them into "everything" bagels by adding the toppings before baking. Amazing! They were so good... And so easy... I may never spend $11 for a dozen bagels again! This weekend, I will probably make some cinnamon raisin bagels using this recipe, too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe multiple times, and every time they turn out awesome! This is my official bagel go to. Tastes like they are straight outta NYC! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mediocre.housewife
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I MADE BAGELS!! I can't believe it, and they were perfect the first time. I think next time I will try and add some of the toppings inside the dough. They are perfect plain, just as they are but become even better when you add toppings. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mediocre.housewife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I really loved these bagels. This is my first attempt. They are completely vegan too! I used Coconut Sugar instead of white sugar for all of it. I also added sunflower seeds, garlic powder, dried (minced) onion, basil, and cumin. Oh, and I substituted 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat four. They are amazing!!! I didn't use any electric stuff either, I hand kneaded them, and they turned out great; just check out the photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States