Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is my first bagel making attempt and they turned out amazing! Followed directions except left to rise after formed an hour on floured board. So good fresh from the oven spread with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
These turned out wonderfully for our first time making them. My husband and I love asiago cheese bagels so we threw in garlic powder and cheese during the kneading time. Very easy, quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Slice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made these last night and I have to say that these were some of the best bagels I've ever had. Such a simple recipe that took no time at all. **ONE NOTE** I did follow the advice of one critical review from Jodi. (circa 11-26-11) that said to not boil the bagels for seven minutes. I boiled mine two mins max and baked for 25-30 mins. Again great recipe! Can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added a little baking soda to the water and didn't boil quite as long, maybe 5 minutes total. Great bagel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
After spending hours in the kitchen following instructions to the letter (digital thermometer to ensure the water was exactly the right temp, bought the yeast last night to ensure it was good, etc.) and after all that work I ended up with heavy doughy messy lumps. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I have made a lot of bread but never bagels. Everything that went wrong was my own fault, one rolled off on its way out of the pot, my stove does not like to simmer and I moved them around on the baking sheet and wiped off some of the cooking spray and those stuck. There was also the pressure of himself going through the fridge to pick out what he was going to put on his bagel... I didn't get any soggy bagels but I put them right in the oven from the pot, didn't wait until they were all done. Will be trying this again and adding garlic and poppy seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Great recipe, we love bagels and we can't get them here in rural Argentina . I made a batch last evening, topped some with dried onion , sesame seeds, dried garlic . They are really yummy toasted or plain, I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Once you make these at home, you will NEVER buy bagels again! These are the real deal - chewy inside, with the baked crust on the outside, ideal for toasting! I've made these about six times, using a stand mixer (not kneading by hand). Here are the modifications needed: 1. Once all flour has been added, you will knead it in the mixer for 5-10 minutes until elastic and shiny on the surface. 2. Cover mixing bowl with plastic wrap and rise for one hour. 3. Start water to boil in the last 10 minutes of rising, then shape each bagel as desired, resting them under a damp cloth. 4. No need to wait 20 min for a second rise, by the time the water is boiling and you've finished shaping (5-10 min), you can start boiling the bagels in batches of 3-4 per pot. 5. TIMING adjustment is critical! Only 1 minute per side - then onto a cookie rack to drain. 5. Once they are all boiled, blot them dry on bottom, transfer to greased cookie sheet. 6. Brush with an egg-white wash and add top with desired add-ons (poppy seeds, garlic powder, salt, etc.). Baking time is 20-25 min as per directions. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as stated. Bagels turned out flat, kinda like they were squished flat because they just didn't want to puff up. Despite the appearance, they were very tasty! Just like store bought bagels! Tasty but very labour intensive. Worth giving it a try if you have time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Very Good!!!! This was my first shot at making homemade bagels and they came out fantastic!! The only downside was when they were all gone and I wanted more!!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States