Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Once you make these at home, you will NEVER buy bagels again! These are the real deal - chewy inside, with the baked crust on the outside, ideal for toasting! I've made these about six times, using a stand mixer (not kneading by hand). Here are the modifications needed: 1. Once all flour has been added, you will knead it in the mixer for 5-10 minutes until elastic and shiny on the surface. 2. Cover mixing bowl with plastic wrap and rise for one hour. 3. Start water to boil in the last 10 minutes of rising, then shape each bagel as desired, resting them under a damp cloth. 4. No need to wait 20 min for a second rise, by the time the water is boiling and you've finished shaping (5-10 min), you can start boiling the bagels in batches of 3-4 per pot. 5. TIMING adjustment is critical! Only 1 minute per side - then onto a cookie rack to drain. 5. Once they are all boiled, blot them dry on bottom, transfer to greased cookie sheet. 6. Brush with an egg-white wash and add top with desired add-ons (poppy seeds, garlic powder, salt, etc.). Baking time is 20-25 min as per directions. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as stated. Bagels turned out flat, kinda like they were squished flat because they just didn't want to puff up. Despite the appearance, they were very tasty! Just like store bought bagels! Tasty but very labour intensive. Worth giving it a try if you have time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Very Good!!!! This was my first shot at making homemade bagels and they came out fantastic!! The only downside was when they were all gone and I wanted more!!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gabs1972
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Excellent recipe!! I have never cooker bagels, this was a first timer for me, but as you can see from the picture, they turned out great! My husband loved them too!!! Just a slight change: 1) I didn't broil them 2) I boiled them for 2 minutes per side 3) Need to cook less than 30-35 minutes, as you can see from pic they came a bit too dark Other thank this, WONDERFUL!!! Thanks for this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is my go to bagel recipe, they always turn out wonderful and delicious! I made them again today using half "white whole wheat" flour and they were still great. My tip is to not overcrowd the pot when boiling, if you give them room in there, they turn out bigger and better. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very happy with the results. I used the broiled option and boiled the bagels for only 2 minutes per side. I made 10 larger bagels. I've topped some with sesame seeds and made some cinnamon raisin in addition to the plain. Very good! I anticipate making several other variations in the future. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe 6 times in 2 weeks time, and they have been excellent every time. Here are a few tips I've discovered through testing and experience: I have tried substituting brown sugar for white sugar in this entire recipe, including the boil, and they taste equally good but a little different (my wife thinks they are better). 7 minutes of boiling is pointless, as I've done many experiments with these and found that 1:30 each side is the max needed -- nothing longer than that will make it any chewier. Boil with a ROLLING boil, not a simmer as per the recipe. The temp will drop when you add the dough anyhow, so a rolling boil keeps things boiling when the bagels go in. Bake them at 400F for about 20-25 minutes, turning the cookie sheet around halfway through so it bakes evenly. The chewy texture is best achieved through letting them cool and staying out all day (or overnight) before bagging. They will taste less yeasty and more dense and chewy after sitting out. Also, this recipe will yield very small bagels if you make 12 so I suggest doing 7-8 for a regular-sized bagel. Brush them with egg before baking for a glossy surface and save yourself the whole broiling step. If you prefer not to use vegetable oil you can sprinkle yellow cornmeal on the cookie sheet instead. It won't stick and it adds a little bonus flavor underneath. Lastly, I have gotten excellent results using 1 tsp. less yeast (so a total 3.5tsp). Happy bagel making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I absolutelty loved the result! The bagels came out beautiful on the outside as well as the inside. It was my first time making bagels and I will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
First time making bagels ever BUT with the new year brought us a resolution to reduce our processed food intake but we LOVE bagels. Well! Thank goodness I have a Kitchen Aid because this was some tough dough. I followed the recipe. The first 6 I made were ugly but hole crow they were delicious! Crispy on the outside. Chewey in the middle. Yum. Thr second half of the dough I made smaller and incorporated cinnamon and sugar. Those are still in the oven. I am trying to think of all the ways that I can make bagels. I can't wait to try them on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Thank you!!!!! We're expecting our second baby, and the biggest craving so far came along last night. Our favorite bakery didn't open in time for us to get there, so I made these. I made them into "everything" bagels by adding the toppings before baking. Amazing! They were so good... And so easy... I may never spend $11 for a dozen bagels again! This weekend, I will probably make some cinnamon raisin bagels using this recipe, too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States