Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was my first time making bagels, and they turned out pretty well. I think they taste a bit salty, so I might cut back a bit next time. I used whole wheat flour instead of the all-purpose flour, and the taste and texture were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I'm a native New Yorker living in Oregon. I can't find a good bagel. This was the very first time I've ever attempted making bagels. Amazing and so easy! These bagels are going to be a staple in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
If you have a little bit of time these are wonderful! We are getting ready to try a batch with wheat flour & raisins and some with cinnamon & sugar.......so many possibilities! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent! Delicious with a nice crust! I opted for broiling then boiling, and they turned out beautifully! They take a little time, but you may never buy grocery store bagels again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Really good bagels! Better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great recipe!! Finally they came out well. On my second attempt they where fine. As other reviews suggested I did; 1. First rise for 30 minutes in a warm place (inside my oven with light on. 2) rise for 35 min. 3) Broiled them for 1 min each side before putting them in water. Next time I will try to brush them with egg + watter and some seeds. As we live in Barcelona (Spain) I do not have to go out any more to look for bagels in town
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made these yesterday and ate one today,and they were waaaaaayyyy too salty. It was like swallowing ocean water! They also didn't rise and only got slightly bigger when I boiled them, but they still turned out really puny. I think I'll try a different bagel recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krabtart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I love this recipe! Today I made my 7th batch and I must say they came out absolutely beautiful! The only change I made was to the boil time. When I boiled my first couple of batches for 7 min they had gooey spots that would not bake out. All other batches I only boiled for about a min. on each side and that has corrected the problem. I have moved on to using whole wheat flour and I am now ready to add flavorings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen B.
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Incredible! I followed the recipe without changing a thing. This was my first attempt at homemade bagels and my family and I are thrilled with the results. It wasn't as labor intensive as I'd expected either. I broiled them after they were finished rising, then boiled them for the 7 minutes and baked them for about 20 minutes. Absolutely Glorious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious. Made them exactly as stated but did let them rise longer (about an hour). I did make a couple less bagels to make them bigger. Tasted fantastic out of the oven with some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States