Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This was a great recipe! I love it! I added an additional one tablespoon of cinnamon and one cup of blueberries. They turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
delicious! but one warning - make sure you do not OVER rise them or they will collapse into horrid, wrinkly slabs when you scoop them out of the boiling water. I made 12 the first time, one collapsed, 10 the next time and all collapsed because my oven was on auto clean and stayed locked past the rising time. Live and learn. Next batch (made with garlic and caramelized onion) was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good dog Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prospect Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Made this recipe as written. The bagels turned out well, however I am wondering why no one else mentioned the amount of water given in the recipe. I had to use 2 cups of water, as the dough did not come together at all with the 1 1/2 cups. It was humid and actually a rainy day when I made these, so I don't think it was the atmosphere. Anyway, they turned out fine after adding the extra water, so all is well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Great recipe. This makes very dense bagels, like NY bagels. These are a little crispy on the outside! Nice I cooked mine about 40 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Used the broiled, boiled, and baked method. Absolutely perfect! Glossy and crunchy on the outside (after toasting) and chewy on the inside. Only substitute I made was using whey in place of water. Next time I would like to try a cinnamon raisen variety and blueberyy! Topped with dried minced onion, sesame seeds, and left some plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
These came out great and we're am awesome first timer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Just way too salty...I loved the broiling tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Awesome bagels, and sooo easy to make. If you want big bagels, you need to let them rise for more than 20 minutes before boiling them. I did, and they turned huge and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I made these yesterday! I can't believe how easy they were! Instead of keeping them plain I made everything bagels with this recipe.... After taking them out of the boiling water and draining I seasoned them with onion and garlic flakes, poppy seeds, and seat salt, then baked them! They came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States