Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
The bagels came out perfect in my 2nd attempt. I made mini bagels (24 bagels) instead of the full size bagels with raisin. I took the extra step of broiling them for 1 min on each size, then put them in boiling water for 1 min. and finally baked them for 15 mins. The finished bagels are all glossy and no wringle this time. My husband who usually will only eat 1 full size bagel, ate 5 mini bagels at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
Bagels turned out delicious. I doubled the recipe but made the same amount of bagels for "jumbo bagels". After the boiling process I dipped one side of the the bagels into a shallow dish of dried minced garlic, poppy seeds, onion bits & sea salt for home made "everything" bagels. Yum!! Thanks Jandl for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2000
this recipe was very excellent....easy to make and very delicious...I have been baking for years and am a excellent baker....as a special treat before baking I sprinkled on some dried onion flakes and then baked the bagels....they are better than bakery style....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2000
This recipe makes bagels that taste like you bought them. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2000
These turned out really well and were much easier than I expected. Boiling them first makes them really authentic. I added sesame seeds to some, drizzled honey over others, and topped others with cinnamon-sugar before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2000
Unbelievable! It's been quite a while since I started my search for the best home made bagels. Looks like the search is over. My first attempt of this recipe produced excellent bagels, only too small. So, for my second attempt I decided to make only 8 bagels. The results were amazing: Bagels, the way REAL bagels should taste! Watch your weight, people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
A wonderful recipie. The second time I made them I used whole wheat flour and added 1/4 C of honey while mixing the dough. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
This is my first time making any type of bread. Be warned though, make 12! They look small when you are shaping them but they boil and bake better when they are smaller. If you make them bigger be sure to boil and bake longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
I made nine instead of 12, and let me tell you, they were the biggest, most beautiful,and yummy!!! Next time, Im adding blueberrys! Monday is now bagel making day because Im not buying them anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
Fast, easy, great texture and flavor. My daughter and I had fun making bagels for the first time. I don't think we'll be buying bagels at the store again. It's home-made for us. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States