Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Llyshanevaeh
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and these are some of the best bagels I have ever had. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Llyshanevaeh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tumwater, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I tried it just as the recipe said, and it was AMAZING! Never buying store bought again! Now I just need to figure out how to make them look more uniform.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These are incredible! Before baking, I brush them with an egg wash and leave them plan or top with sea salt, asiago cheese or cheddar cheese and garlic. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These are great! I used whole wheat flour and added a bit of lemon juice to help the wheat flour rise. I let them rise for around 30 minutes and rolled the pieces out into snakes then wrapped the rolled piece around my hand to make a circle as this was less time cosuming for me. Yay! I have now made bagels. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was my first time making bagels, and they turned out pretty well. I think they taste a bit salty, so I might cut back a bit next time. I used whole wheat flour instead of the all-purpose flour, and the taste and texture were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I'm a native New Yorker living in Oregon. I can't find a good bagel. This was the very first time I've ever attempted making bagels. Amazing and so easy! These bagels are going to be a staple in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
If you have a little bit of time these are wonderful! We are getting ready to try a batch with wheat flour & raisins and some with cinnamon & sugar.......so many possibilities! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent! Delicious with a nice crust! I opted for broiling then boiling, and they turned out beautifully! They take a little time, but you may never buy grocery store bagels again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Really good bagels! Better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great recipe!! Finally they came out well. On my second attempt they where fine. As other reviews suggested I did; 1. First rise for 30 minutes in a warm place (inside my oven with light on. 2) rise for 35 min. 3) Broiled them for 1 min each side before putting them in water. Next time I will try to brush them with egg + watter and some seeds. As we live in Barcelona (Spain) I do not have to go out any more to look for bagels in town
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States