Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I never knew making bagels could be so much fun and so easy! They've always been a store-bought mystery. They're a little time consuming but worth it. My mom taught me to let the yeast sit with the warm water and sugar for a few minutes, then mix in the dry and remaining ingredients. That's the only real deviation I made from the original recipe. Also, I let the dough rise 10-15 minutes longer both times. The outcome was fabulous! I tried someone else's honey-oat suggestion, and also used a garlic bread spice mixture to coat some others. Delish! I coated them after boiling and before baking. Wonderful recipe! I'm delighted I don't need to buy bagels anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Followed recipe, but they needed 39 minutes. (Oven thermometer confirmed the temp.) Even so, they were gummy inside and needed toasing. Won't throw them out, but we were sadly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Very easy to make. I made half the regular way and half using the broiling method. They turned out perfect. I’m anxious to make another batch and experiment with different toppings and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahmicheller
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Great recipe, a tad yeasty, but i'm sure that depends on brand and such. Next time I will tweak it. Still a thousand times better than the cheap store bought kind. Thanks much much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Made everything bagels out of this recipe. I let my neighbors who were all hanging out try them, and they ALL said they were the best bagels they'd ever had! This was quite the compliment to me and the recipe, as I do NOT consider myself to be a baker- I usually stick to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Nice bagels, but not the dense types that I like. These bagels were chewier. Another problem was that there was too much salt in it. Having said all that, this was a really good bagel recipe for newbies to bagel making, like myself. It was so easy to make and tasted so nice (even if not dense) that I made two batches in one day. But, as other reviewers have commented, they are a smallish-sized 12 bagels. Bagels I've bought from stores were double the size of my bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I followed the broil first for shiny look directions. The only thing I added was during baking, I brushed the tops of each bagel with whipped eggwhites/water every 8 minutes. Not only did they turn out beautiful, they were absolutely delicious!. The big test was 2 days later when I toasted the extras I stored in a plastic bag in the icebox. They were fantastic. I will never buy bagels again. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was my first attempt at making bagels. Incorporated some changes and the bagels were perfect. First, I mixed the yeast + water + sugar together and let it sit for 10 min or until foamy. Then, added the salt and 4 cups of bread flour and mixed it with a fork. Finally, kneaded the dough with 1/4 cup of bread flour. Let the dough sit covered for 30 min in a warm oven (heat the oven at 200 F for 5 min and then turn it off). With the help of a pizza cutter, divided the dough into 8 equal balls. Then shaped it into a bagel and placed them on wax paper and let them sit covered on the counter-top for 1 hr. Then boiled the bagels and baked them for 32 min. My family first thought that these were store brought and when I told them the truth they were very impressed. The bagels were soft, chewy and had a nice texture on the outside. Definitely give this recipe a try. Thanks Jandl for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
GREAT recipe! The recipe was very easy to follow and the bagels turned out delicious. The next time I make them, I'll experiment and add poppy seeds, sesame seeds, cheese, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is amazing!!! Makes about 8 cafe size bagels. Great mixed with sundried tomatoes, dried onions, garlic.... You can create a lot with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Young

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States