Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. My first time making them they turned out awesome! sometimes i had cinnamon and raisins . Other times i sprinkle cheese on top :) so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janice
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I've made these twice now, and they're fantastic. The first time I followed the general recipe, and the second I broiled them first. I'd definitely recommend the broil-before just for aesthetic reasons. I ran fresh basil and tomatoes through the food processer and added them when I kneaded in the rest of the flour, and they are literally one of the best things I have ever eaten. I also did an egg wash on my second batch (again, aesthetics) and they came out beautiful and professional looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
awesome recipe! It was fun and easy. I topped mine with garlic and onions right after they came out of the water the first time I made them and today I am using sesame seeds! I have already passed this recipe on to my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
i just made these, i used gluten free flour (an all purpose blend i buy in bulk), they turned out great!! in fact since i've never made them with wheat flour i'll never know the difference :) A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Wonderful recipe, I got up early to make these for my dad and sister, I actually made them into breakfast sandwiches with egg and cheese and we all loved them. Suggestion: sprinkle some shredded hard cheese (I used a Kraft blend of asiago/romano) before popping in the oven, very yummy. Definitely be sure to spray the baking pan enough, they can be tricky to remove cleanly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I never knew making bagels could be so much fun and so easy! They've always been a store-bought mystery. They're a little time consuming but worth it. My mom taught me to let the yeast sit with the warm water and sugar for a few minutes, then mix in the dry and remaining ingredients. That's the only real deviation I made from the original recipe. Also, I let the dough rise 10-15 minutes longer both times. The outcome was fabulous! I tried someone else's honey-oat suggestion, and also used a garlic bread spice mixture to coat some others. Delish! I coated them after boiling and before baking. Wonderful recipe! I'm delighted I don't need to buy bagels anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Followed recipe, but they needed 39 minutes. (Oven thermometer confirmed the temp.) Even so, they were gummy inside and needed toasing. Won't throw them out, but we were sadly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Very easy to make. I made half the regular way and half using the broiling method. They turned out perfect. I’m anxious to make another batch and experiment with different toppings and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahmicheller
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Great recipe, a tad yeasty, but i'm sure that depends on brand and such. Next time I will tweak it. Still a thousand times better than the cheap store bought kind. Thanks much much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Made everything bagels out of this recipe. I let my neighbors who were all hanging out try them, and they ALL said they were the best bagels they'd ever had! This was quite the compliment to me and the recipe, as I do NOT consider myself to be a baker- I usually stick to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States