Boiled Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Easy to follow recipe and a great starting base. I ended up using about 2.5 cups flour in the dough after mixing the wetter dough. I would probably up the salt or add other flavors in the future. I brushed mine with egg and added sesame seeds before tossing them in the oven, but I think they would have been a bit bland if I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great taste and texture. I didn't broil them, just boiled and baked. And like others recommended, I let them rise for 1 hour. Yummy! I don't think I'll be buying store-bought bagels anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great recipe! Takes a couple tries to get the hang of it, especially getting the yeast right (eventually I just mixed it in with the water/sugar/salt before I added it to the flour and got way better results).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachas6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dustbunny
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I took the suggestion and added about a tablespoon of Molasses to the boiling water along with the sugar. Once the bagels were boiled I dipped the tops in an everything mixture (sesame seeds, poppy seeds, caraway seeds, freeze dried garlic, onion flakes and sea salt - just a tablespoon of each) This recipe made 13 bagels for me - average size. All I can say is that I loved this recipe and will make it over and over again - probably tweaking ingredients to get different flavors of bagels. I am very eager to try banana nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustbunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were relativity easy to make although they did take a long time. I found that they were a little too tough and chewy. Also the sugar salt perportions were a little off and it made them taste a little funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These came out delicious though the shapes were a bit funny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Yummy! I double the recipe and use 2 cups rice flour, 1 cup wheat germ, 1 cup steel cut oats, and the rest whole wheat flour. I also use rice milk instead of part of the water. Absolutely killer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
flat, 7 minutes seems too long to boil I think it absorbed water and ruined them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Napa_Grapes
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Great recipe! I used someone else's suggestion of putting molasses in the water instead of sugar, and the outsides came out crisp and brown. The insides are chewy and tasty. I used a heavy duty baking stone when baking mine. It took around 30-35 minutes just like the recipe said. I also separated the dough into 8 even pieces instead of 12 and the bagels came out the size you would find at a store. Keep in mind that the bagels are going to pretty much double in size both in height and diameter when put into the simmering water so don't worry if they look a little on the small side after proofing. I just may never buy bagels again! I like to get a nice piece of asiago, shred it, and put it on as a topping, The raw ingredients are so much cheaper then paying for bagels. It just takes a little bit of time, but is a very simple recipe to follow. Having made this recipe at least 10 times now, I must add that you will likely need to add more flour when kneading the dough. I usually knead mine in a Kitchenaide mixer and slowly sprinkle in flour till the dough comes together and is firmer because it will be wet and sticky at first which is not what you want...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Napa_Grapes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I am not happy with the way these bagels turned out. I read all of the five-star reviews before I started and followed the directions to a T, with the exception of making 9 bagels instead of 12. The bagels looked beautiful going into the water bath and beautiful coming out. It was about 30 minutes into baking that I realized these weren't going to be the "perfect bagels" I had envisioned. The bottoms were gooey even after 45 minutes in the oven. I flipped them over and baked for another 15 minutes before pulling them out of oven, not wanting to burn them. Though this was my first attempt at homemade bagels, I consider myself an accomplished baker and have never had problems with homemade breads, rolls, pretzels (also boiled), etc. I believe the error in this recipe is in the boiling time. Most other recipes state to boil bagels under 2 minutes total, not seven. I will attempt these bagels one more time, but will decrease the boil time significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Discover the secret to perfect hard boiled eggs.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States